Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Fleet Commander: Nimitz» Forums » Rules

Subject: Vacating Areas, Sortie Order, AAA, Transport Damage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken Latall
United States
Whittier
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1 - Can US land-based aircraft or US infantry vacate an area, leaving no troops from either side in the area, or must you keep at least 1 unit in an area, similar to the Japanese?

2 - Sortie Order: the playing board shows 1 Infantry, but the instructions on page 11 (left column) lists 2 Infantry. Which is correct?

3 - AAA: If the first row (escorts) shoots a plane down, is the second row's (carriers) shot wasted or can it be saved for the next plane?

4 - When your infantry is being bombed and they're on a Transport, where does it say that you use the Transport's value of 4 instead of the infantry's own value, when determining the lowest value for applying damage?

5 - Page 18, the 2nd example under Attacking Island Forces: It says that since the US doesn't have Infantry or Land-Based Aircraft on the Island, you have to apply a hit to the Japanese Airfield or Ship. Couldn't the hit also be applied to the Japanese Land-Based Aircraft?

Thanks for the help!
Ken
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Dodds
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
"If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
klatall wrote:
1 - Can US land-based aircraft or US infantry vacate an area, leaving no troops from either side in the area, or must you keep at least 1 unit in an area, similar to the Japanese?

You can leave an area empty. The only restrictions on moving out of an area is that US Infantry cannot leave the area if there are Japanese forces in the same area.

But remember that for objective control purposes you have to a US Infantry or LBA present. If you vacate an objective area then it immediately flips to the red side: "If there are any Japanese Infantry or Land-Based Aircraft Ashore at an Objective, or if there are no Forces from either side Ashore, place the red side of the counter face up. The red side indicates the Objective is not Held by US Forces."

klatall wrote:
2 - Sortie Order: the playing board shows 1 Infantry, but the instructions on page 11 (left column) lists 2 Infantry. Which is correct?

The board. See this post.

klatall wrote:
3 - AAA: If the first row (escorts) shoots a plane down, is the second row's (carriers) shot wasted or can it be saved for the next plane?

Assuming there are as many attacking aircraft as ships then each aircraft only gets targeted by AAA once. So if your escorts shot down a plane then the carriers will still get to attack another enemy aircraft. See this post.

klatall wrote:
4 - When your infantry is being bombed and they're on a Transport, where does it say that you use the Transport's value of 4 instead of the infantry's own value, when determining the lowest value for applying damage?

While the infantry on transports you are not actually targeting the infantry but the transport. From the Allocating Hits section in the rules where it says "Each Hit inflicted on a Transport inflicts 1 Hit on 1 of the Infantry counters it is carrying." While the transport in the coastal area it has a value of 4 for determining hits, so it's always hit after an enemy ships in the coastal area. Should the transport be hit then the infantry on board are damaged. This can also be seen in the Extended Example where there are US Bombers attacking the Coastal Area with the Aoba, Furutaka, and a Japanese transport carrying a battalion present. The hits are assigned to the Aoba because it has the lowest value - the battalion's 0 value is not used because it on a transport.

Hope this clears up everything!

.:Edited for typos:.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Dodds
United Kingdom
Reading
Berkshire
flag msg tools
badge
"If you only read the books that everyone else is reading, you can only think what everyone else is thinking."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With regards to the 5th question that example perhaps isn't very well worded. The assumption is that the aircraft are in the air over the island when it mentions enemy LBA.

The steps in the battle turn order (those relevant for this example) are Move Aircraft, Combat, Infantry Advance and Return Aircraft. All aircraft have to be assigned to a target - they can never be left at the airfield. Thus when the attacks in those examples during the Combat phase occur the aircraft are still in the air and cannot be targeted by forces attacking the island. The aircraft will not be placed back on the airfield until the Return Aircraft phase, which is after all combat resolution.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Holly Verssen

California
msg tools
designer
publisher
Thank you Paul. Your answers and explanations are great.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Latall
United States
Whittier
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much for the help! I'm finally catching on.

5th question - I can see now that applying the hit to the Airfield is another way to attack the LB A/C!

Have a great day!
Ken
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.