Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Suffered damage after an attack is resolved - do cards count? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alexander Wiig Soerensen
Norway
flag msg tools
Some abilities activate if a character suffered a number of damage during the resolution of an attack (Example: Gaarkhan's rage ability - "After an attack targeting you is resolved, if you suffered 3 or more damage, you become focused.").

The question is if an imperial player damaged the hero with a card (example: one that makes a hero take as many damage as strain he has) but not with the dice, does the ability still activate?

The cards in question are all played "when an attack is declared", which is part of the attack phases, so we were unsure if that damage is to be counted or not?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeppe Tobias Hatting
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hmm, I would say the cards count if they triggered while the attack is under way.
To clarify: From the moment the attack is declared, to the moment it is completely resolved, if the poor wookie has suffered 3 or more damage during that period, then he becomes focused.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the card adds Damage to the pool, so that it can be blocked, and there are uncancelled damage which is then suffered by the target, then it has been dealt by an attack.

If the damage is dealt in another way, I don't think it counts even when performed in the middle of an attack.

Could you quote exactly the card in question?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
it sounds like declaring an attack is the condition that must be met to play the card, then yes the damage would count as being done by an attack.
It would indeed count for triggering Gaarkhan's ability
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The timing is as Pasi stated it. Only the damage calculated and applied during the final step of the attack counts.

In the example of the OP, where Executioner from the Subversive Tactics deck is used, this card applies extra damage to the attack and hence it is resolved in the calculation step. However, if Surgical Strike was used instead (which does damage and strain after an attack), the additional damage would not be factored in when determining if Rage triggered.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Wiig Soerensen
Norway
flag msg tools
Thanks guys. As Jorgen said, it is the executioner card. "Tap when Imp fig declares attack on hero. Apply +1dmg for each strain hero has suffered (max 3)" So the consensus is that if it is to be played during the attack, it counts?

This gave me a new question, would that card (and similar ones) be blockable? If imperial played Executioner, rolled one damage, the hero has two strain, and rolls 3 block, would he then block the card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The damage added by the card in the damage pool is blockable.

The amount of damage to apply to a figure is calculated only at the end of the attack, subtracting blocks from the damages rolled or added otherwise (like Executioner or surge abilities).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Wiig Soerensen
Norway
flag msg tools
I'm resuscitating this thread, to ask a followup question:
So if a hero rolls dodge, all cards like the one mentioned are blocked/neutralised?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you roll a Dodge, the attack misses completely. Any damage and conditions that would've otherwise been dealt by the attack do not happen. (Some after-attack abilities may still deal damage or strain.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Wiig Soerensen
Norway
flag msg tools
Thanks dude!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.