Phil Hannay
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played Exodus with the Cylon fleet option for the first time last night.

We had a situation where there was a single basestar on the main board, and we'd damaged it with the "can't launch raiders" token.

Then, the crisis told us "Basestars launch raiders".

What happens?
a) Nothing
b) Raider appears on cyclon fleet board
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a) nothing.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Hannay
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
a) nothing.

Why not B? In all other instances, if you don't place on the main board you place on the cylon board...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ships are added to CFB only when the ship in question (or centurions for heavy raiders) is not on the main game board to be activated (nor a basestar to try to launch them).

But here the basestar exists, so in a sense something happens, the basestar is available to try to launch raiders. It just can't, due to its specific damage. The raiders are dispatched, but clogged up in their hangar deck.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noel Yap
Philippines
Pasig City
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
The rule isn't whether you place on the main board, but whether something happens or nothing happens. A damaged basestar tries to launch raiders but can't - something happens even though there are no visible results. Compare to when there are no basestars on the main board. Nothing happens because there aren't any basestars to even make the attempt.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Hannay
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys - that's how we ruled it in the end, but I don't think the rules are very clear
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
xorsyst_uk wrote:
Thanks guys - that's how we ruled it in the end, but I don't think the rules are very clear


Page 12 of the Exodus rulebook is explicit, but refers back to the base game rulebook - use the rules on p22-24 of the base game rulebook except when those rules use the literal phrase "nothing happens" - the rules for damage tokens specify that the damaged basestar "may not {do something}" rather than that "nothing happens", so they don't invoke the alternate rules from Exodus.

Page 13 makes it clearer:

"If there are no raiders or basestars on the main game board"
"If there are no heavy raiders, centurions or basestars on the main game board"
"if there are no basestars on the main game board"

So the rules are quite explicit that, in order to do something with the CFB, there must be no basestars on the main game board.

Any ambiguity comes from trying to read more or less than is there - it's easy to think of the rule as "whenever nothing happens" rather than "whenever the rules use the phrase 'nothing happens'", but that misleads you - the actual rule is "whenever there are none of the activated pieces on the board - and no basestars"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.