Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 Focus and 1 Targetlock - Use rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
S. R.
Germany
flag msg tools
If got the above, may use all of the three in one attack, or just the target lock and one focus, or just one? eg recon engineer with fcs on an attacking echo?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris K.
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ra1d wrote:
If got the above, may use all of the three in one attack, or just the target lock and one focus, or just one? eg recon engineer with fcs on an attacking echo?


Technically you can spend as many tokens on an attack as you like. However you quickly run out of scenarios where it makes sense:

spending a second target lock usually makes no sense since you can only reroll each die once.
spending a second focus generally makes no sense since you will usually wait until you see the final result of rerolls and the like before turning all focus results into hits by spending one focus. Hence there isn't anything usefull left for the other focus token to do.

Edit: obviously there are some abilities that trigger of spending a focus token that may be an exception to this "makes no sense" statement.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
chrisdk wrote:
Ra1d wrote:
If got the above, may use all of the three in one attack, or just the target lock and one focus, or just one? eg recon engineer with fcs on an attacking echo?


Technically you can spend as many tokens on an attack as you like. However you quickly run out of scenarios where it makes sense:

spending a second target lock usually makes no sense since you can only reroll each die once.
spending a second focus generally makes no sense since you will usually wait until you see the final result of rerolls and the like before turning all focus results into hits by spending one focus. Hence there isn't anything usefull left for the other focus token to do.

Edit: obviously there are some abilities that trigger of spending a focus token that may be an exception to this "makes no sense" statement.


Also, there is currently no way to have more than one target lock on the same ship (although you could spend one and acquire another one later with Vessery and/or Fire Control System), so that's sort of moot. But as above, you can't reroll the same dice more than once per attack, so unless you're using Gunner or Cluster Missiles or Corran Horn or some other way to make more than one separate attack in a round, it doesn't really matter.

With Calculation, you could spend one Focus token to convert an eye to a crit, then spend another Focus token to convert any remaining eyes to hits... which would make it equivalent to Marksmanship, for the most part.

If you have a Blaster Turret or missile/torpedo + Deadeye, you could spend one Focus token to make your secondary weapon attack, then have a Target Lock + Focus token to modify the attack roll.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EDIT: Sneaky ninja is sneaky (or more like skimming reader is skimmy).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Chav
United States
Taylorsville
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought you can only spend one focus as an actual focus. Should be in the faq. Hence keyan can only spend 1 stress.

Also the scum named y wing could regain his TL during his attack but I think the wording in the faq is one per opportunity to spend. So you could not spend 2 focus with calculator to get two crits, but could very 1 and focus the rest. Right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Danath wrote:
I thought you can only spend one focus as an actual focus. Should be in the faq. Hence keyan can only spend 1 stress.

Also the scum named y wing could regain his TL during his attack but I think the wording in the faq is one per opportunity to spend. So you could not spend 2 focus with calculator to get two crits, but could very 1 and focus the rest. Right?

Keyan can only spend 1 stress because his ability says he can only spend 1 stress (just like Luke can only flip one eye to evade, as described as the example for the "once per opportunity" rule in the FAQ).

Similarly, Calculation says you can spend a (1) Focus to do what Calculation does (as per the "once per opportunity" rule in the FAQ). But I don't think this prevents you from spending another Focus token to do other things (aside from Calculation) - e.g. change remaining eyes to hits, as usual.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Chav
United States
Taylorsville
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mainly thinking of Garvin and if he had multiple focus he could spend one on attack only. Could spend one per defense roll and one for the focus shield regeneration astro
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iNano78 wrote:
Danath wrote:
I thought you can only spend one focus as an actual focus. Should be in the faq. Hence keyan can only spend 1 stress.

Also the scum named y wing could regain his TL during his attack but I think the wording in the faq is one per opportunity to spend. So you could not spend 2 focus with calculator to get two crits, but could very 1 and focus the rest. Right?

Keyan can only spend 1 stress because his ability says he can only spend 1 stress (just like Luke can only flip one eye to evade, as described as the example for the "once per opportunity" rule in the FAQ).

Similarly, Calculation says you can spend a (1) Focus to do what Calculation does (as per the "once per opportunity" rule in the FAQ). But I don't think this prevents you from spending another Focus token to do other things (aside from Calculation) - e.g. change remaining eyes to hits, as usual.


Correct. Like mentioned above, if you have Deadeye, you can spend a focus to activate a missile/torpedo attack, then spend another to modify the attack roll.

You can even spend a focus token to modify zero dice results; say you rolled two blanks and a hit, you could still spend a focus and modify nothing (usually because you have an ability that triggers when you spend a focus).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.