Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Catan: Cities & Knights» Forums » Rules

Subject: Volcano vs. Metropolis rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ben Peacock
msg tools
So a long time ago, a mini-variant came out called Volcano. [http://www.mayfairgames.com/gamesupport/variants/0483-scen3....]

It's a fun little variant to change a gold hex from Seafarers into something a little more daring. The result of having lava flow your direction is a downgrade of city to settlement, or loss of a settlement.

However, the rules do not address Cities & Knights, and we had a heated debate last night on whether a Metropolis would guard against the lava flow. The only rule from C&K we have to go by is this:

"A metropolis is immune to barbarians. It can never be pillaged or reduced."

In the context of the first sentence, when saying reduced, is it soley from barbarians? The contention is, could it mean reduced from ANYTHING, namely lava flow? Weigh in, BGGers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Yeager
United States
Ypsilanti
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the absence of an explicit rule, default to common sense.

im in ur base killin ur w00dz

Alex Yeager
Mayfair Games
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Peacock
msg tools
Okay let's say it does destroy the city and the player loses the metropolis. How does he have the ability to earn it back? By flipping over the last card of the calendar? What if he/she is already there? It's just lost? That seems a harsher penalty than the spirit of the rule would imply. I'm just trying to weigh both sides of the arguments...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The question is already answered in the German FAQ. Since the volcanos are only part of the German "Die Siedler von Catan – Das Buch zum Spielen" we have not translated it: http://www.catan.de/faq/3016-was-passiert-mit-einer-metropol...

A metropolis affected by a volcano is reduced to a settlement. But the player may immediately upgrade one of his other cities - if he has one - to a metropolis or he will get the metropolis back when he builds a new city - if no other player has built this metropolis in the meantime. So when upgrading a metropolis at a volcano you have to consider that there is no fun without risk.

Dr. Reiner Düren
Catan GmbH
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Peacock
msg tools
That's really strange. I don't understand why a player can just move the metropolis if lava takes it out. I ended up writing the Rules Guru on catan.com and received the reply that metropolis protects against volcano.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Barbarians can think and therefore they may think that a metropolis is too strong to attack. Therefore they make a wide birth around a metropolis. Lava or a pyroclastic flow just flows and when there is a metropolis that doesn't stop the lava or pyroclastic flow, as can be seen by the history of Pompeii: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pompeii

When one metropolis is destroyed another city will take its place - that can even be an opponent's city.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Peacock
msg tools
The ruling from Rules Guru is that metropolis protects from volcano.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.