Roger Morley
United Kingdom
Hastings
East Sussex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In my first ever game, in my first patrol I came across a single freighter.

I went for an attack at medium range, submerged and in day time, and both torpedoes I fired failed.

I decided to attack again but had to check to see if an escort would arrive, and it did, and it detected me. In the attack it damaged me.

At this point I feel I have done everything correct, but I need to know can I carry on with the attack against the freighter, obviously running the risk of further detection and attacks, or do I have to try and escape?

I did the latter and escaped, but it is a question which I cannot clearly find the answer to in the rules - woods and trees spring to mind whistle
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Landry
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
I believe, combat with the escort continues until you have either escape detection or been sunk. Once you are undetected, now that the freighter has an escort, you have the choice of breaking off and leaving the area or to continue following the freighter and set up another attack against it.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Morley
United Kingdom
Hastings
East Sussex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, once I am detected, and the escort attacks me,does it carry on with the detection and attack until I become undetected?

Then I have the choice to either attack or leave
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Landry
United States
Alabama
flag msg tools
nemesisuk wrote:
So, once I am detected, and the escort attacks me,does it carry on with the detection and attack until I become undetected?

Yes, undetected or sunk.

nemesisuk wrote:
Then I have the choice to either attack or leave

Yes, kind of, the choice is to leave the area or 'follow" the ship, which can lead to another attack. The only time "following" is automatic is against a damaged ship. An unescorted ship can have an additional round of combat rolled for (which as you indicated earlier, can lead to a escort showing up.). An escorted ship has to be "followed" to be attacked again.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nemesisuk wrote:
In my first ever game, in my first patrol I came across a single freighter.

I went for an attack at medium range, submerged and in day time, and both torpedoes I fired failed.

I decided to attack again but had to check to see if an escort would arrive, and it did, and it detected me. In the attack it damaged me.


From this statement my assumption is the there was no escort to begin with. If a true assumption, then you should have attacked on the surface at close range. This would have given you three shots to sink the beleaguered freighter. With out an escort this freighter is a sitting duck and should be treated as such. You can fire all available weapon systems one at a time. So if your on the surface you can fire one torpedo system (Aft or Stern) see the results and then use the deck guns to finish off or use the other torpedo system. Or all three if needed. Now after you have fired all three weapon systems if the freighter is still afloat you can decide to follow. If escort arrive you can disengage your attack or press on the attack. If you continue the attack at medium or long range you get to attack first then the escort get their shot at you. If on the other hand, you attack at close range the escort go first, then you , then the escort again. Risky business that close range attack is.


nemesisuk wrote:
At this point I feel I have done everything correct, but I need to know can I carry on with the attack against the freighter, obviously running the risk of further detection and attacks, or do I have to try and escape?

I did the latter and escaped, but it is a question which I cannot clearly find the answer to in the rules - woods and trees spring to mind whistle


Yes you can carry on with further attacks. But you DO have to escape detection from the attacking escort first. If you escape detection and successfully follow the freighter you can attack it again. Yes you will have to deal with the escort if it stays with the freighter.

Hals und Beinbruch,
Jim P
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger Morley
United Kingdom
Hastings
East Sussex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to everyone for clearing this up with me. I am quite clear about combat now

I know now it would have been better to have attacked on the surface at close range, as it would have improved my chances of sinking the vessel. I will know better next time.

Once again, thank you all
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Smales
United States
Rome
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Colonel Peter Gansevoort (1749 – 1812) Defender of Ft. Stanwix, Rome, N.Y., 1777
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nemesisuk wrote:
Thanks to everyone for clearing this up with me. I am quite clear about combat now

I know now it would have been better to have attacked on the surface at close range, as it would have improved my chances of sinking the vessel. I will know better next time.

Once again, thank you all


Hang in there! After a few more patrols, you'll be flipping charts automatically and the story of your encounters will take over. You'll have a lot of choices to make in this game--any of which can potentially kill you and your crewwowshake


Welcome aboard!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig H
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Check the files section. There is a really good combat flow chart that really helps walk you through. The first time I got caught in the escort detection loop I thought the game was broken. If you can't seem to escape detection the game gets quite tense.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Ransdell
msg tools
Roger,

I agree with Jim P. upon approaching a single ship without escort. My M.O. is to surface at close range, fire my deck gun, and then if it's still floating, start firing torpedoes until it no longer is. Deck guns are useless when an escort is involved.

Kevin
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.