Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Conquerors: Alexander the Great» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few varied rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Farrell
United States
Cupertino
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry if these have been asked, but I couldn't find a FAQ:

- Fleet Movement: I couldn't find anywhere which explained how many MPs fleets get. 10.7 says units can't spend more than 4MP on naval movement, but I couldn't find anything that told me how far fleets are able to move when activated, either alone, or in transporting armies, if you can use a treasury to accelerate movement, etc.

- Transport: 6th para of 10.7 says that "no more than 15 ASPs may be transported by sea". I was unclear if this meant: a) no more than 15 ASPs can use sea connections in an impulse, or b) when fleets and armies move together, they are limited to 15 ASPs; but if you decline the naval escort, you can move as many as you want.

- Naval LOCs: The Naval LOC rule and example seem to be at cross-purposes. The Naval LOC rule (7.3) says you can "trace Naval LOC no longer than two (2) MPs back to any friendly occupied Port". The example of a LOC at the end has a naval LOC being explicitly traced to an unoccupied port space.

Can I interpret this whole LOC thing as being just up to X (8 or 10) Land + up to 2 Naval MP, mixed in however you want? Or, if I trace to a coastal treasure city (i.e., Pella), the last 8 MP can be naval, but there can be no other naval component?

- Recruiting: If I add ASPs to an army through 8.3, it appears this has no effect on the Elite Level, is that correct? 8.1 talks about transferring ASPs amongst armies, but not adding new ASPs.

- New Armies: Is it true that the only way to create a new army is through the recruitment action (and therefore with an elite level of 0)? 8.0 (the reorganization section) talks about transferring ASPs between armies, or adding "garrison" ASPs to an exsiting armies, but doesn't seem to allow "splitting" one army into two. I only ask because it seems to make creating a workable third army a bit of a process for the Macedonians (create the army, link it up with a good army, reorganize some SPs to get a viable elite level, then use more reinforcements - which don't appear to affect the elite level - to pump both armies up).

- Drawn battles: who gets Battle Fatigue in a drawn battle wasn't entirely clear to me. Obviously, you get a fatigue if your loss number has an F. But if it doesn't, as neither a victor nor a loser I wasn't absolutely sure what should happen (it seemed giving out fatigue only to armies that get an F was the best way to go). Likewise, since neither side technically got labelled as a loser, we played that there was no effect on the elite level.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard H. Berg
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
Fleet Movement; 4 MP max. May not be increased.

Transport: a) no more than 15 ASPs can use sea connections in an impulse, IS Correct


Naval LOC. "The Naval LOC rule and example seem to be at cross-purposes." Basic prmise: when the rule and the example conflict, use the rule.

"Recruiting: If I add ASPs to an army through 8.3, it appears this has no effect on the Elite Level, is that correct?" YES, it is . . . However, if the number of new ASP (which have an Elite rating of '0') is larger than that in the Army to which they are being added, the mechanics of 8.1 take effect.

"- New Armies: Is it true that the only way to create a new army is through the recruitment action (and therefore with an elite level of 0)?" YES.

"- Drawn battles: who gets Battle Fatigue in a drawn battle wasn't entirely clear to me."

The Loser plus any player who gets an F with his dieroll . . .win lose or draw.

RHB
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Tosti
Italy
Foligno
Umbria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BergBROG wrote:

"Recruiting: If I add ASPs to an army through 8.3, it appears this has no effect on the Elite Level, is that correct?" YES, it is . . . However, if the number of new ASP (which have an Elite rating of '0') is larger than that in the Army to which they are being added, the mechanics of 8.1 take effect.

RHB


I'm sorry, Richard, but this is even less clear than before:
in fact 8.1 says " If the Elite levels of the ASPs to be combined is different, the combined ASPs or army takes the Elite level of the largest group of ASPs minus one level (to a minimum Elite level of zero)". So, if it happens that you recruit more newly raised ASPs than those currently in the army you're adding the newly raised ones into, the Elite level goes to zero?
Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.