Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Pandemic: State of Emergency» Forums » Rules

Subject: First Responder Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vittorio Stamos
msg tools
mbmbmb
I just read the rules pdf, and noticed that the First Responder's ability lets it move to the epidemic city and treat disease out of turn.

Is this ability a free action (meaning the First Responder will still have all of its actions on its own turn)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Bob
United States
Las Vegas
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it's a free action.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Taylor Kitto
United States
Idaho
flag msg tools
mb
Yeah, it could have said "you may move her to the city and remove one cube." However, if it's cured you would remove all 3 instead. That's the only reason for the specification of "treat disease."
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
taylor20k wrote:
Yeah, it could have said "you may move her to the city and remove one cube." However, if it's cured you would remove all 3 instead. That's the only reason for the specification of "treat disease."

That's one. Another reason is that the "Treat Disease" action has no effect on Superbug cubes and this power doesn't allow you to remove them if any are present in that city (from a previous outbreak in a neighboring city).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth Jenkins
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Played with the first responder in our first SoE game and loved her. Made a huge difference without feeling absurd.
Had a couple questions about her interaction with "CDC Planes Grounded"
1) Can she still fly to a research station?
2) Can she still move to the epidemic city?

After reading the extra text on her role and the CDC Planes card, I ruled that she could do both. The impression I get is that CDC Planes only impacts the flight options listed on the standard actions card and specifically mentioned airlift card. Also, going from memory here.

Regardless, loving this expansion so far. Looking forward to trying the rest.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Kenmonster wrote:
Had a couple questions about [First Responder's] interaction with "CDC Planes Grounded"
1) Can she still [move] to a research station?
2) Can she still move to the epidemic city?

Yes to both. Neither of these are "Flights".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Battle Droid
Australia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just a further query. Is the treat disease once per colour or simply just once? So if the city had 3 red cubes and say 1 Blue cube (from an earlier outbreak), you move to that city and treat disease on the 3 cubes which means remove one if not cured yet or all 3 if it is cured. Can you then treat disease on the Blue cube as well?

My guess is no, which makes the most sense.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
You get a single Treat Disease action in the epidemic city. Spend it wisely.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Battle Droid
Australia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.