Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Golden Ages» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rocketry graphics? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
We had a discussion on how to interpret Rocketry graphic = the red "move" arrow and the + sign.

The situation at hand: India acquired Rocketry without first buying Flight. Does the Rocketry tech allow unlimited moves for colonists as well or is it still max three steps if you choose to move a colonist instead of going to war without one?

Why the red arrow and the + sign on the tech tile?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paulo Renato
Portugal
Vila Nova Gaia
Porto
flag msg tools
I run through Rahdo's Runthroughs and make right what once went wrong (via annotations)
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rocketry just says you are allowed to attack anywhere on the map without using a Colonist...

Meaning you can launch an attack in any location you want... you then make a new city if you want and no colonists were used to do this...

Using Rocketry you don't move the colonists...


If you want to move and don't have the Aviation you can only move 3 spaces if you have Rail... but that, to me, isn't using Rocketry... that's using the normal soldier action and that means you are spending a colonist to do it

Rocketry just allows you to attack anywhere without having to spend a colonist... imagine you haven't attacked the whole game... with rocketry it's possible for you to attack in the final age 4 times even thou you only have 3 colonists... in normal circumstances you could only attack 3 times because each attack requires a colonist, but since rocketry doesn't require it you can do it the 4 times if you can afford it...

There's no interest in moving your colonist to the attacked place because if you move him he will be used and won't move again in this age and if you want to control the space you attack Rocketry allows you to make a city there, so you already will have that control and if you don't use the colonist you'll have it to control another space.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luigi Ferrini
Italy
Castagneto Carducci
Livorno
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Muse23PT wrote:
Rocketry just says you are allowed to attack anywhere on the map without using a Colonist...

Meaning you can launch an attack in any location you want... you then make a new city if you want and no colonists were used to do this...

Using Rocketry you don't move the colonists...

If you want to move and don't have the Aviation you can only move 3 spaces if you have Rail... but that, to me, isn't using Rocketry... that's using the normal soldier action and that means you are spending a colonist to do it


That's correct.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Good, that is the way we played as well, but the imagery on the tile is a bit confusing with the red move arrow and the plus sign.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.