Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Couple of questions that came up rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Cohen
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi folks,
Two interesting questions have come up in recent play:

1) When an ability refers to a target square "within X squares", how does that deal with obstacles? The FAQ clearly says that figures don't block the path, but that doors and walls do. How do we account for obstacles?

2) The Geomancer ability Quaking Word grants a surge ability that imposes a Stun unless the target fails to pass an attribute test. The rules are fairly clear that wen a Surge ability imposes a condition, the attack must deal damage for the Condition to take effect. One of my players argues that since the Condition is behind an attribute test, rather than being a straight-up Condition, that this doesn't apply (i.e. that the attack does not need to deal damage to force the attribute test). Complicating this is the fact that the power can affect multiple monsters, including those who were not a target of the attack and didn't take any damage. So how does Quaking Word work?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1)You cannot count spaces through obstacle terrain, you must count around them. The link below shows the "number of spaces" each space is from the villager. Please note that the space to the right of the minion goblin should actually have a "2" in it, not a "3." Figures with "Fly" can ignore the effects of obstacles when moving, but only when moving, and still need to end movement in an empty space.

http://imgur.com/v2IFZHe

2)Indeed, the attack does not need to deal damage. The "straight-forward" condition surges are triggered by the attack dealing at least 1 damage. The condition attached to Quaking Word is triggered by the figure failing an attribute test, not the attack dealing a damage. Look at the difference in wording, say, from the giant's "stun." If this attack deals at least 1 wound, the target is stunned. As opposed to Each monster within 2 spaces of a summoned stone tests awareness. Each monster that fails is stunned.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Cohen
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the reply. Can you point to anywhere in the official rules/faq that your answers spring from? Have these points been clarified anywhere officially?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In terms of not being able to count through obstacles, that's right in the main rulebook in the "counting spaces" and "obstacle terrain" sections. It's been clarified by FFG response here: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1307804/range-2-or-range-3

As for the conditions, that's just a matter of the text on the cards. "You can't get a condition unless damage is dealt" is nowhere in the rules- that comes from the text on monster abilities like "poison" and "stun" that always say "If this attack deals at least 1 wound..."

Quaking Word does not have that restriction- it doesn't say, "if this attack deals at least 1 wound, each figure tests awareness..." it simply says "...each figure that fails the test is stunned."

EDIT: Apologies, I misspoke. There is a sentence about conditions being inflicted contingent on damage being dealt- but that is specifically in reference to "surge: poison" and the like, not conditions in general.

From another standpoint, consider that quaking word can stun figures that are not targeted or even affected by the attack.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Everett Yubacore
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Test
I'd just like to point out that it dose mention all the conditions (Disease, Immobilize, Poison, and Stun) in the rule about dealing at least 1 damage to spend a surge to inflict. It's located on the summary on the back of the rulebook.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yubacore wrote:
I'd just like to point out that it dose mention all the conditions (Disease, Immobilize, Poison, and Stun) in the rule about dealing at least 1 damage to spend a surge to inflict. It's located on the summary on the back of the rulebook.


Right- but again, that's specifically referencing surge abilities featuring conditions. That is:

Surge: Poison
Surge: Stun
Surge: Disease

etc.

That's not the same as saying "you must inflict 1 damage before inflicting a condition in all cases."

EDIT: For reference, here's that summary:

Quote:
Any attack with a *surge* ability featuring Disease, Immobilize, Poison, or Stun follows these rules:

If the attack deals at least 1 *wound* (after rolling defense dice,) the target suffers the listed condition.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.