Christian Kurz
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

I have been building stuff for civilization for a few years now and wanted to show you what i arrived with. At first my main goal was to speed up set-up, but in the mean time i have come to build stuff to fit civilization on a smaller table and to speed up gaming itself.

If you want to know where i came from this is my old thread.

This post starts where the old thread ended: I had the idea, that it would be very clever to have small faction cards without dials and only one dial per player instead of a lot of huge factions sheets. While i had the idea to print my on faction cards, one Sunday morning i just grabbed my scissors and cut the originals right through. This was the result:

I wrote the starting tech below the special ability. These cards are now about the size of a normal card game.

With the leftover counters i made several designs of player specific boxes. While not all worked that well, the last model is pretty cool:

In the lower right corner there is a culture counter. While i had a two-digit counter earlier, i realized that this one (0-15) is enough. Now we do not need any culture tokens to play the game!

The box is more than the counter, though:
Inside, there is space for figures, cities and techs. Techs are sorted by level with little tabs to reach them quickly.
Social policies and governments stack onto the cities for storage:

Not only the player specific bits needed organization, though: I noticed, that apart from shuffling the cards, separating them from the huge stack i kept in one zip-lock bag took to much time. It's also nicer to have a card drawer instead of decks which collapse over the desk from time to time.
Now, all we have to do for set-up is placing this drawer - the cards are shuffled the first time somebody draws from the stack.

In case you were wondering what kind of box that is next to the cards: