Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: what happens to the un-selected side mission card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dmitry Buslaev
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One thing we are not clear on, after choosing a side mission, does the other side mission stay on the table, or is it removed from the game or shuffled back in to the deck?
thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon David
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The unselected side mission stays. If it was a side mission the imperial player paid for, he gets the reward immediately if the rebels did not choose that for the side mission and then its discarded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Wimmer
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
> does the other side mission stay on the table

Yes. Side missions can only leave the table by playing them. Each time after a story mission, a new side mission is drawn (to bring their count to 2) and rebels chose between them.

They always chose between 2 side missions (and possible additional agenda missions).
Side missions can not leave the table without playing them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the unselected ones stay as active side missions. Each time a side mission (which is not an agenda side mission) has been resolved, rebels draw a new one to replace it. As said above, rebels always have at least 2 side missions to choose from.

(Agenda side missions can get discarded without resolving them, refer to the cards themselves for their special rules.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Takenokojon wrote:
The unselected side mission stays. If it was a side mission the imperial player paid for, he gets the reward immediately if the rebels did not choose that for the side mission and then its discarded.

A small clarification. A reward from a non-selected agenda side mission is given after the selected side mission has been resolved, not immediately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dmitry Buslaev
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks guys
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yuliyan Kalaydzhiev
Germany
München
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But wouldn't that mean that every time an agenda mission IS chosen the two side missions stay and a third/fourth/etc. comes to the previous ones? I don't see why there are ALWAYS 2 side missions...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torsten Hasforth
Denmark
Copenhagen
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
You only draw a new side mission if the side mission you solved was not an agenda side mission:

"If players just resolved an active, non-agenda Side Mission card, shuffle the Side Mission deck and draw one card. This card is now an active mission"

It's in the "learn to play" p.13

T.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikael Svensson
Sweden
Helsingborg
Skåne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
At LEAST 2 sidemissions, i.e. the number can grow.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yuliyan Kalaydzhiev
Germany
München
Bayern
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dursten wrote:
You only draw a new side mission if the side mission you solved was not an agenda side mission:

"If players just resolved an active, non-agenda Side Mission card, shuffle the Side Mission deck and draw one card. This card is now an active mission"

It's in the "learn to play" p.13

T.


Ah! Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Wimmer
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Mixx wrote:
At LEAST 2 sidemissions, i.e. the number can grow.

Since there are only 3 types of side missions (normal, agenda, forced) and agenda and forced missions cost at least 3 influence, you'd have to save up 6 influence and draw 2 agenda/forced missions in your agenda draw to bring up the count of active side missions to 4.

Otherwise it's usually 2, unless there is a agenda or forced side mission, in which case it's briefly 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a story mission is next, you can earn influence from a side mission, spend influence to buy an agenda side mission, earn more influence from the story mission and buy another agenda side mission. You then have 4 side missions (2 agenda, 2 non-agenda) in play.

You have a fair chance of doing that without saving much influence.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Wimmer
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
If a story mission is next, you can earn influence from a side mission, spend influence to buy an agenda side mission, earn more influence from the story mission and buy another agenda side mission. You then have 4 side missions (2 agenda, 2 non-agenda) in play.

You have a fair chance of doing that without saving much influence.


Yeah. Still, you need to save up 2 influence to start with (before the side mission), win the side mission (if it even gives you 2 influence) and then win the story mission. And of course you need to draw the appropriate agenda missions.

It's possible, but most 2 influence agenda cards are probably a better investment than a surefire agenda side mission reward.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.