Subject: Map tearing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jay W
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I recently picked up a copy of Unconditional Surrender. Upon cracking it open I was dismayed to find the Western map already slightly tearing at the lower seam. I'm fairly new to the wargaming world (I know, I know... Unconditional Surrender might not have been the best place for a newbie to start ), is this a fairly common thing to deal with, or have I just got a bum copy? I'm just worried that my maps going to fall apart in play!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
POUM
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't now about the tearing from start, mine was fine, but it's a thin map for sure. Be sure to always use plexiglass over your maps.

USE is a great game for newbies. Simple rules, compared to many other similar games. One of the best games out there.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff S
United States
Washington
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
This past summer GMT was offering replacement maps because of the issue. I didn't have a problem at first so didn't bother, but when I did have a tear develop, (October/November sometime), I contacted GMT and they sent out a replacement.

It may be worth it to reach out to GMT.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
suPUR DUEper
United States
Villa Hills
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, I put a small piece of tape on the edges of the map at the seam to prevent it from happening. Plus Plexi.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Finkenbinder
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Plexi isn't for everyone - but I would say it is a must for this game. Yes, the map was surprisingly thin to me - I haven't had any tears yet but can see the folds already becoming more pronounced. Fortunately, once you have the plexi laid down, you should be good for 50+ hours.