Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Coral Sea: Campaign Commander Volume II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on when is a stack considered moving? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Boone
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question on the timing of when Red Event cards can be played.
Looking at the cards for both sides, there seem to be 3 possible pre-requisites depending on the card:
a. "Attack an area..."
b. "... naval stack that moves into a naval area..."
c. "... Naval stack that just moved..."

1. First off, what constitutes a stack move, actually leaving/entering an area or embarking/debarking units in an area the Naval unit is currently in? This would clarify whether case b and c above are the same or different.

Can you answer the following for each of the cases above?
2. Situation 1: Part of a Naval stack is activated to move, similar to the example on page 5 of the rulebook.

3. Situation 2: A Naval stack is activated for movement and the first thing it does is embark a Ground unit from the adjacent land area.

4. Situation 3: A Naval stack is activated for movement and the first thing it does is debark a Ground unit to the adjacent land area.

5. Situation 4: An Enemy Naval stack is activated for movement that is adjacent to one of your Naval stacks with the intention of entering your naval area to conduct an attack.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Ronco Poce
Spain
Sevilla
Sevilla
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jwboone wrote:
I have a question on the timing of when Red Event cards can be played.
Looking at the cards for both sides, there seem to be 3 possible pre-requisites depending on the card:
a. "Attack an area..."
b. "... naval stack that moves into a naval area..."
c. "... Naval stack that just moved..."

1. First off, what constitutes a stack move, actually leaving/entering an area or embarking/debarking units in an area the Naval unit is currently in? This would clarify whether case b and c above are the same or different.

Can you answer the following for each of the cases above?
2. Situation 1: Part of a Naval stack is activated to move, similar to the example on page 5 of the rulebook.

3. Situation 2: A Naval stack is activated for movement and the first thing it does is embark a Ground unit from the adjacent land area.

4. Situation 3: A Naval stack is activated for movement and the first thing it does is debark a Ground unit to the adjacent land area.

5. Situation 4: An Enemy Naval stack is activated for movement that is adjacent to one of your Naval stacks with the intention of entering your naval area to conduct an attack.


A given stack is moving from the moment it is activated for a movement action -you spend the SP needed- till the player declares it ends its move (or is forced to end after finishing a battle).

I donĀ“t know if this resolve the wording problem. Because if an enemy stack is activated you have to play any Red Event card before battle is iniated -then you can only play Blue Battle cards...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.