Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Chennault's First Fight» Forums » Rules

Subject: Common Questions & Answers Part - 2 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
J.D. Webster
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
6.1 Limited Intelligence

1. All bases are secret, correct?.

Ans. - Just what may or may not actually be based there. Opponents will obviously know who controls each airbase, but what (if anything) should be kept secret if at all possible.

[Please see my Secrecy suggestions at the end of this document, J.D.]

6.3 Airbase Hosting Capacity

1. Why can fighters and bombers not share an airfield?

Ans. - The reason F and B cannot perform missions from the same base is due to the remoteness of the Burmese/Siam theater, as well as this being a "sideshow." There just isn't the staff, logistical support or infrastructure to maintain the stocks for spare parts and ammunition, as well as having trained mechanics, for multiple types of aircraft at these sites. That capability would improve as time went on, but not in the period covered in the game. Note the exceptions that aircraft in violation/excess of an airbase can always stage move to another when they can, as well as all the CAF air units (6 in the game) being able to base at Kunming.

Suggested Clarification: If fighters and bombers are forced to end up landing at the same base due to an airbase evacuation or following a mission, the Over Capacity Penalty of Rule 6.3.4 is immediately invoked for that field even if the normal hosting limit in terms of total units is not exceeded.

[Late in the game the Allies may be limited in where their units can go and this is kinder than forcing a player to eliminate units cause they have no where to land.]

-----

7.3 Commitment of the 7th Hikoshidan

1. Rule 7.3 says that the Allied player gets one VP simply for the 7th Hikoshidan being committed to the Burma front for a turn, but the examples of VP awards at the end of Rule 7.3 do not mention this VP award. Is this because:

a) it was simply forgotten, or b) it is awarded at the beginning of the turn and the VP award examples refer to end of turn awards?

Ans. - B in this case. As per the rule the Allied player does get VP if the Japanese player declares (activates) the 7th Hikoshidan for the turn (even if none are used).

7.5 Initiative Determination

1. The -1 initiative modifiers for recon units over Rangoon and Kunming only apply if they're under Allied control, correct?

Ans. – Correct.

7.6 Initiative Air Mission Determination

1. Is this right? If I roll on the mission table and get three missions, I play out all those missions before we go to alternating missions?

Ans. - Yes, see rules 7.6 and 8.1.1.

-----

8.0 Air Missions

1. Do we resolve missions systematically one at a time until there are no more?

Ans. - Yes, see also, Section 4.4 of the Sequence of Play.

8.2 Air Mission Movement

1. When placing attacking units on the board (flying from their bases) can you count the hexes in your head and just put them on the target hex.

Ans. - No, see Section 8.2, first sentence.

[Please see my Secrecy suggestions at the end of this document, J.D.]

8.1.7 Air Mission Target Hex Designation

1. There is only one Target Marker, do you place that Marker on the target, do the Battle, return planes to bases, then shift the target marker to the next target area?

Ans. - Yes, see Rule 8.1.7.

2. I don't know what the target type marker is for.

Ans. – See Rule 8.6, you use this to indicate the target type if there is more than one in the hex. I also use it to show what line to use on the AA table and bombing tables.

8.4 Interceptor Scramble

1. How many attempts can you make with the same fighter units to intercept Bombers coming in?

Ans. – One attempt per fighter per enemy air mission, but no more than four attempts total for the interceptor side per enemy air mission.

2. if the intercept scramble fails are they available to intercept another set of Bombers within range?

Ans. - As long as it can still intercept, it can attempt as often as able during the game turn. [Basically – as long as the fighter exists, it can be one of four selected by the interceptor side for an intercept attempt.]

8.4.1 Interception Procedure

1. When rolling for interception, you roll separately for EACH intercepting unit, correct?

Ans. – Correct.

2. A unit that fails interception is still considered "ready," right?

Ans. – Yes, only units that successfully do an interception or target scramble will become "Flown."

3. If an interceptor has to fly farther than the mission a/c, does the interception range modifier become positive? Say, if the mission squadron flies two hexes to the target and the interceptors fly four hexes, does the modifier become -(2-4)= -(-2) = +2?

Ans. - Yes. Once the Japanese start getting their mobile and captured airbases up things will start to get interesting.

4. A Ready Fighter that attempts interception but does not perform it, stays in the Ready box BUT can't perform an air mission during the Air operation phase anymore. So there is two kind of "Ready" fighters, the "completely Ready" and the "Not so Ready” correct?

Ans. – Yes, fighters that attempt and fail an interception can no longer perform an offensive air mission (See rule 8.6.1 Air Mission Eligibility).

5. What is the definition of Range points and Hex Points? When calculating scrambles for units trying to intercept a Japanese bomber coming from an off board base, do you count the two extra range point costs before entering the board as additional hexes or just the hexes on the board?

Ans. – Range points is the number of MPs it takes to reach the target hex. As per the rule to enter the map from an off-map airbase, it takes 2 additional range points to enter the map. For interception scramble, only the on map hexes moved through are used in the intercept calculation as illustrated in the scramble example of Rule 8.4.1.

[The Allies would have no knowledge of an inbound range until it crosses the border (onto the game map) so reaction times are limited].

Clarification: A Japanese air unit flying from an off map base requires 8 range points to reach Bangkok but only the six on map hexes it moves through are counted for the intercept modifiers.

8.5 Target Scramble

1. Can a Dinah target scramble per 8.5.2 since it does not have MF rating on the air unit chart?

Ans. - If for some reason a Dinah is not committed to a recon mission at the beginning of the turn and is caught on the ground it will not be able to scramble per 8.5.2.

2. The target scramble modifiers generally make it hard or impossible for planes to take off. You are supposed to roll equal to lower then the MP for that plane. When you are starting with typical DRM of +4 (+2 for planes on target base and +2 for having already flown), almost no plane will be able to target scramble. Is this correct?

Ans. – Yes. The more air units you put at a particular air base the more difficult it will be to clear them out in a hurry if the air base becomes a target, hence the +N for the number of aerial units at the air base. If the air unit flew earlier ... it will indeed be very difficult to get the flyboys up.

3. During a Target Scramble, do you reveal to your opponent the plane that makes the emergency move?

Ans. - Yes.

4. Do you reveal where it lands if the scramble is a success?

Ans. – Not necessarily.

[Please see my Secrecy suggestions at the end of this document, J.D.]

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.