Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Unconditional Surrender! World War 2 in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Naval Support during an Amphibious Invasion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Todd
England
flag msg tools
Really enjoying this game...however, I have a small query regarding naval units in Amphibious Invasions.
Does a naval unit gain a sortie if used for Naval support during the assault on the invasion hex, in addition to any sorties gained from dealing with attempted interceptions?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Dey
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It gains a minimum of 1 sortie, but if it supports an invasion and stops one interception attempt (say it gets a * result) then it would only have 1 sortie at the end of everything. There isn't a separate sortie cost for applying a Naval Gunfire DRM to the invasion ground combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Todd
England
flag msg tools
Thanks Mark - I was indeed playing it wrongly!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Salvatore Vasta
United States
Woodstock
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SteveTodd wrote:
Thanks Mark - I was indeed playing it wrongly!


If it helps any, think of is like this.

If an air or naval unit activates to conduct an Action, no matter what it does during that Action, it will incur only 1 Sortie unless it is involved in air/naval combat during its activation.

If it is involved in combat, it incurs the Sorties suffered in combat instead of the automatic 1. Sometimes the combat result is only 1 Sortie so there would not be a difference in that case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.