Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing of "at the start of combat phase" events rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Erik B
Germany
München
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

we had this situation coming up when we tried our new scum lists. So the game was scum vs scum. I had the initiative.
I played palob godahli with bodyguard. My opponent played Guri (Starviper) with bodyguard and Prince Xixor.

The Situation:

Guri gets the Focus because of range 1 "start of combat phase" ability to Palob.
Palob steals the Focus because of "start of combat phase" ability.
Guri wants to use bodyguard before because ... as you can expect "start of combat phase" ability.

What happens first?

Is it based on pilot skill and initiative order?
Then it would be:

Me - Pilot Skill 5: Palob steals (nothing)
Opponent - Pilot Skill 5: Guri gets Focus
Opponent - Pilot Skill 5: Guri uses Bodyguard

I couldn't find anything about it in the rules or faq.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dane Turner
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I recall correctly, the player gets to decide the order of events for things that happen simultaneously. If you both have abilities that are simultaneous, initiative would decide who goes first.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, if all effect are from 1 player only, he decide the order. Else, the player with initiative goes first then the other player does his.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Forster
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rules reference:

X-Wing Rules of Play, page 16 wrote:
If multiple abilities resolve at the same time, the
player with initiative resolves his abilities first.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik B
Germany
München
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, I see.
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.