Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Minion ability timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
G beau
msg tools
So last night one of our members of the game group was playing Wizards/Robots, first off great combo. What happen was he played a minion thats ability was after playing this minion you play another minion with 2 power or less. He then played a Wizard action that let him draw two cards, he then laid down the extra minion. He debated that he could do this. is this wrong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle A
United States
Norfolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He is well within his rights to do this. There is no order required for play. I think the card is worded to say "this turn", meaning until he ends his turn by drawing two cards, he can legally do what you described.

There are instances where minion abilities trigger instantly, or immediately, however, this is not one of them.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Tschida
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Correct. If it was worded as "Play an Extra Minion", then that would imply that you must use it now. But Zapbot states "You may play an extra minion."
Usually meaning that it's adding to your extra minion count for the turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Very rarely does "play an extra minion" mean "play an extra minion now." The rule book addresses this when it says:
Quote:

Extra: An extra minion or action is
one you can play in addition to the
normal quota of one of that type per
turn. Extra cards
are optional, and
you don’t have to
play the extra card
right away,
unless
the extra card
was gained by a
Special ability or
outside the Play
Cards phase.


This is from the most recently released version of the rules which includes the reference to special cards and plays gained outside the normal time (a very welcome addition).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Dibbles
msg tools
Agree with J.

Just for clarification the Zapbot's ability states:

You may play an extra minion of power 2 or less

It does not say 'this turn' as another poster suggested. That is all
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.