Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: Behind enemy lines rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Bos
Finland
Helsinki
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This card says you can move 3 hexes without movement penalties...

What about rivers...can you cross them?

Thanks in advance,

Faerun
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fredrik Borg
Sweden
Lund
Skåne
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say no. Rivers don't have movement penalties, they have movement restrictions.

But I don't remember the exact wording in the rules...

Fredrik.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich Chamberlain
United Kingdom
Nottingham
Nottinghamshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with Fredrik - absolutely No. It's impassable terrain unless there is some method to cross the river, such as a Bridge.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Schoenherr
msg tools
mb
What about the scenario where you have soldiers who can pass the river using rafts, but must do it in two turns normaly?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent
United States
San Ramon
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Page 15 of the English rules says rivers are impassable terrain.

The scenario that allows the Allies to cross a river with rafts is an exception. If the scenario doesn't provide rules for crossing a river, it can't be done.

Quote:
◆Movement: A River is impassable terrain. A unit
may only enter a River hex when the hex has a bridge.
◆Battle: A unit on a River hex with a bridge battles as
normal.
◆Line of Sight: A River does not block line of sight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Bos
Finland
Helsinki
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, but the wording is that the soldier can move without movement restrictions...

and the "impassable" is technically a movement restriction.

Any thoughts on this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent
United States
San Ramon
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Right you are. The FAQ addresses this:

Quote:
Behind Enemy Lines
Q. May an infantry unit move three hexes on a beach when playing the 'behind enemy Lines' card?
A. Yes
To avoid endless debate about this card, the original intent of the card was that the infantry unit's movement would not be restricted by terrain but terrain battle restrictions would still apply. I failed to word this clearly on the card. The card should of read that Terrain movement restrictions do not apply but battle restrictions do still apply.
Terrain features that cost more than 1 movement only cost 1 move when an infantry unit is ordered on the Behind Enemy Lines card. An example of this is for the Omaha Beach scenario where moving up a bluff for an infantry unit from the beach is a 2 hex movement. Moving up or down the bluff in this case will only cost 1 move for the infantry unit when ordered on the Behind Enemy Lines card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Bos
Finland
Helsinki
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Problem is that it only adresses movement restrictions about hexes you normally are allowed to enter...

it doesn't say anything about impassable terrain
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vincent
United States
San Ramon
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I don't see that. It just says movement is not restricted by terrain. You might be overthinking it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.