Thumb up
2 Posts

Star Trek Deck Building Game: The Original Series» Forums » Rules

Subject: How do Battles work in this game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Manns
United States
Cape Coral
flag msg tools
How do Battles actually work in this game?
Please help. Thanks.

 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Las Vegas
flag msg tools
Battles in this game work as follows:

A battle must be initiated by an Event or Mission from the space deck.

Once initiated, players alternate playing one card at a time to their bridge to attempt to defeat their opponent(s), or at least damage their starship. Setup cards may not be played during a battle.

Once you have both passed playing cards to your bridge you all add up your speed. Whoever has the higher speed attacks first. If multiple players tie, they Attack simultaneously.

The player who had the higher speed adds up his Attack and that much damage is done to any one opponent's starship, minus any shield stats the opponent might have played to their bridge.

If any player's starship is destroyed they must gain an ensign, reshuffle all their cards from their discard pile, bridge and hand, and draw a new hand, and are no longer in the battle.

After all players have attacked, all surviving players add up their stats that the particular battle card shows, from left to right. Comparing stats in each category u til someone wins one of the comparisons.

For example, if the battle card has Diplomacy+Speed / Speed+Attack / Diplomacy+Attack you would first have all players compare diplomacy +Speed, and if someone has more than the other players they would receive the event to their points area. If one or more players tied, you would then move on and compare speed +attack, and so on until someone wins the card. If somehow everyone ties all the way through, the card is put on the bottom of the space deck and no one wins it.

Finally, any players whose turn it was NOT clear their bridge and draw back up to their hand size, and the player whose turn it was, if he survived, finishes his turn. If he didn't survive, he has already done the process above and his turn ends immediately after the battle.

Hope this helps!

 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.