We are playing a 3 player 1939 game. Can someone explain, in simple wording, how the soviet player and the other Allies player work?
Who can move for the red/blue card played?
Who can use CMs for the red/blue card played?
Do they both do normal movement or only one country?
How are above answers affected by soviets entering the war?
A full example covering all situations would be greatly appreciated.
You don't need a Command Point from a card to move units. You only need Command Points for attacks and strategic movement.
Everything is explained in Rule 12.0 and in Rule 3.2, paragraphs 1 and 3.
Rule 12.0, THREE PLAYER GAME, paragraph 1 reads:
Start play in 1939 normally, or in 1941 with Barbarossa 41 (recommended). Deal two cards to each player, except one card each in 1939. Players may exchange cards with each other as desired. The Allies and Soviets consult to determine who plays first, then alternate one card per Game Turn for the rest of the year. Commands are shared as in Rule 3.2.
Card color determines who moves first, USSR or Allies. It also determines which can roll on the Diplomatic Table at the end of the turn.
Paragraph 3 of Rule 3.2 may need some clarification. It reads:
Allied (blue) and Soviet (red) cards are played as desired until the Soviets enter the war. After that, the cards must be shared equally by the Soviets and the Allies, fractions rounded to the card color. That is, Red 3 is Soviets 2, Allies 1; Blue 5 is Allies 3, Soviets 2.
I take it that this means that the Allies alone determine how the CP on a blue card are to be used when the USSR is at peace. The Allies may allow the USSR anything from zero CP on a blue card, to all the CP on a blue card. USSR when at peace has the same power over the use of the red cards.