Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
(ɹnʎʞ)
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey everyone,

the rulebooks recommends: number of players x2 = amount of hidden objective cards + 1 traitor card.

There is also a special traitor variant, which just adds 1 regular hidden objective card per player +1 traitor objective.

Both variants sound a bit too extreme on both ends to me.
My first game will be with 5 players, resulting in a stack of 10 regular and 1 traitor objective.

As I said, I have no personal experience with this game so far, but this sounds quite diluted to me. Somehow. Maybe.

Am I wrong ? What is your formula during setup ?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
mbmbmbmbmb
The Secret Objectives are all selfish in some way or another. The Betrayer's real only difference is that they want to be selfish *and* reduce Morale to 0, instead of being selfish *and* completing the Main Objective.
Even without a Betrayer, there are people who are going to need to "play suboptimally" anyway.
And (with the basic formula) there's just under a 50% chance of there being a Betrayer in the game at all, so you have to be on your toes whether people are playing suboptimally because of their regular Objective or because they're the Betrayer.

The chance of Exiling a non-Betrayer is a risk that makes the game interesting.

So, no I don't think this is a problem at all.

In practice, less than half of my games have had a Betrayer and the game was still full of doubt and finger-pointing.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Hjelmberg
Sweden
Saltsjö-Boo
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
None of the variants is extreme if you calculate the probabilities.