I quickly looked through the FAQ's but do not have the actual cards in front of me. If I drop a prox mine and it overlaps two ships, do both ships roll the damage or do I pick one ship? Since it detonates right away if placed under a ship, this could easily happen
Yep, it's in the FAQ on the "Proximity Mines" page (not in the "Bombs" section near the front).
FAQ v2.2, pg 15 wrote:
If a ship drops a Proximity Mine so that it overlaps multiple ships, the player dropping the bomb chooses which ship suffers the effects of the Proximity Mine detonating.
Also, google means you don't have to have the cards in front of you (not that they'd help in this situation).