Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gregory Wong
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I posted this question to a few other forums including the one at Columbia Games, but I never got a response. So, I'll try here.

Suppose you have blocks from three or more different players in a hex. Also, suppose none of the players are allied with each other. Which player is the defender? Is it the first player to enter the hex? Who shoots second?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
mbmbmbmbmb
I intended to answer this on CG's forum, but forgot. I'll copy this there for completeness.

The sidebar on page 6 regarding Multi-Player Alliances has the part of the answer:

"If another player joins a battle he must declare whether he is supporting the Attacker or the Defender and may not exceed the combined limit of six units." (That should be four units if you are playing with the 1.6 rules, but that line didn't get updated.)

Thus, there will only ever be two sides during a battle.

Whoever was in the hex first is the Defender. If the next player to move in is not an Ally, then they are the Attacker. If a third unallied player wishes to enter the battle hex, they must immediately declare whether they wish to join the Attacker or the Defender. In doing so, they form an Alliance (if temporary) and are now limited to the hexside and stacking limits left unused by that player. If the allied Defender or Attacker refuses the Alliance or has no more stacking available, the third player may not enter the battle hex.