Subject: What a Beginning rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Derek McNamara
Ireland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A Bit of a Preamble

I am new to board games. And as it so happens my of my good friends happens to be the owner of one of the largest game distributors in the US. His inventory makes me salivate, and a few months ago it propelled me to the internet.

I checked out the web for game info. I found Tom Vassal’s site, and then I found OZ, Board Game Geek. I begin to research games online (Dice Tower and DGG) and overall both sites list games with the same general ratings.

I decided to buy Battle-Line. It is inexpensive, and highly rated. (I have bought about 50 games since). On opening the box (and including hindsight) I appreciate the box being designed to store the game board and accoutrements. While this is not a big point, or a major part in evaluating the game’s rating, it does help create an overall positive feel for the game. (I have too many games sorted in Ziplock bags)

I had never played this game before. This was the first game I was learning without help or any real gaming experience. (Milton Bradley does not count). I understood the basic concept at once (it is not a complicated game) but there was something missing. Experience that would fill the gaps.

And I turned to BGG. The reviews were helpful, but what brought clarity were the pictures. And thus the pattern was set. Now, before I buy a game, I check out BGG and Dice Tower. As I learn the game I have the laptop at hand, with BGG and the pictures.

The Review Proper

Battleline is a series of independent battles between two players. Each player is dealt seven cards, a card is played and a card is taken from the TROOP DECK or the TACTIC DECK. The goal is to lay down three cards in a line that will defeat your opponent’s cards. When a battle is resolved the winner takes a flag. Three flags in a row wins (a Breakthrough) or the first to win five flags (Envelopment).

TROOP DECK.