Popular Tags: [View All]
Dede Kurnia Kardiman
Indonesia
Batam
Kepulauan Riau
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Soon after a couple sessions, Power Grid has become one of my favorite games. Not only because I like the theme (as I’m an Electrical Engineer), but because in this game you really need to concentrate in balancing your power network, your power supply, and your power fuels. The best player in balancing these 3 factors will be the winner. Of course, a little luck comes into play, but with proper planning and mind reading (foresee what will be your opponents’ next move...), a player should be able to minimize the impact of the bad luck, and gain profit of good luck.

The physical layout of the board is the same as in the basic game, a sturdy double-sided board, with France map on one side, and Italy on the other. The France’s artwork is the same as in USA/Germany, but Italy’s is different. The cable connection drawing is slimmer, looks much modern.

The Italy/France expansion map not only brings new maps to the game, but also new feeling to the basic great game with its little twist on the initial setup. I must say that I love this expansion. As the map changes and the initial setup being twisted, you need to adjust your strategy, adapt to the new conditions.

The France Map
In France, the focus is more on the nuclear plant as uranium fuels are already cheap since the beginning:
- At the start of the game, uranium fuel available from space 5 to 16.
- Clean Plant #13 is removed from the game, but Nuclear Plant #11 is available immediately as the top card on the plant draw deck.
These little twisted on the setup will make us to re-consider using Nuclear Plant as early as possible as the uranium fuel is cheap.