Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

March of the Ants» Forums » Rules

Subject: Abandoning Control rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Franks
United States
Norfolk
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I was playing a five player game today and here was the scenario:

Turn order was
1) yellow 2) purple 3) red 4) black 5) blue

Yellow marched and so reactions began.

Purple had one cube on the control marker of a three resource space hex.
Blue had three cubes in the same hex, one of which occupied a resource spot.
Black had one cube in the last resource spot.
Yellow had one cube in the outskirts.

So 3-spot hex, all 3 spots occupied by different players, 4 players in the hex.

Purple used his reaction to vacate the control spot and moved out of the hex.

My question is, how do you resolve who occupies the now vacant control spot? We decided to go in turn order. Red had no cube, black already had a spot and we decided should not be allowed to switch (the open spot should go to an outskirt ant) and so blue took the spot.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Gameson
United Kingdom
Worcestershire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
That sounds right!

For normal movement it'd be turn order, starting from the active player. If the vacant spot was from the result of a battle, it'd be in play order, starting from (and including) the winner of the battle.

Hope this helps
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Eisner
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Yes you played it correctly. That scenario is one of the most complex in the game so glad that you were able to figure it out. Ants inhabiting sites can't jump to a new site in response to someone vacating a site (they could as a step in March or reaction to March).

So yes the first outskirt ant in turn order gets to jump into that spot.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.