Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Supreme Commander» Forums » Rules

Subject: Vichy France diplomacy counter? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Stoddart
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
is there a separate diplomacy counter for Vichy France? If there is I seem to have misplaced it. The setup instructions for The Great Crusade list diplomacy counters for France and Vichy France. What does it look like?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Cawley
United States
Anthem
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You just use the France counter for Vichy, or for "neutral overseas France" if France is completely conquered instead of Vichy being formed.

You never have 2 entities that have diplomatic tracks. There can indeed be two "France"'s, but one of them - Free France or Liberated France - doesn't have a diplomatic track and cannot have diplomacy conducted with it. That entity, if it exists, is always an Allied country.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Stoddart
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks, does that mean the setup instructions for The Great Crusade are wrong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Bernatz
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, the French diplomacy marker should NOT be in the US force pool. Per 17.5.1, the French diplomacy marker is used for Vichy France, not 'free france'.

Dan, can you correct the scenario by deleting that one line in the US set-up?

-K
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Holte
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is intentional that the French marker go into the US or UK force pool after liberation, because it is now an active minor and Vichy cannot afterwords be created. If Vichy had been created previously (which is most often), it is rolled back into France.

Follow 17.5.4. The marker doesn't say "Vichy France".

However, you are correct in that the marker should not be in the US pool; it is in the German Force Pool per the Diplomatic Status list.

The History

This was due to Operation Torch in 1942 when the Allies invaded Vichy territory. The Germans initiated what they called Operation or maybe Case Anton if I remember the name correctly, and German forces moved into southern France to defend what was then still Vichy territory.

The Diplo Status table and the German force pool is correct.

In any case - good catch.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.