"Certain mission rules can allow a figure to escape. In order to
escape, the figure must spend one movement point while in or
adjacent to the space indicated in the mission’s rules."
I'm a little unclear on this. Let's say the figure is ten spaces away from the exit. With a speed of 5, could they double move to the exit and escape? They would theoretically be moving nine spaces, and then could use one more point to escape, right? Or would that cost 11 points?
I read that as saying you actually have to move on to the exit space, or if you are on the exit space, spend a movement point. This makes it so you can't do something like force throw someone through an exit (unfortunately this rule caused us to lose a mission). You should be fine using only 10 movement points if the square is 10 away, since the last one is spent when you are adjacent to the exit to escape, instead of moving on to the exit.