Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

World War II: Barbarossa 1941» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about terrain tiles. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Toomas Sula
Estonia
Laagri
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have question about road hexes,which are printed on map.The terrain on road hexes have different color from plain hexes on map.So,is this road on plain,or on brush hexes?Are units on road visible or not? Same question about railroad? Does railroad block line of sight?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick van Gompel
Netherlands
Aalst
flag msg tools
Avatar
As far as I know, the road hexes are plain (open terrain), so it does not block line of sight. Though, there are road hexes which go through forest as mentioned in the rules and do block line of sight.
Most railroad hexes are plain too, although a few hexes seem to be light woods.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toomas Sula
Estonia
Laagri
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.About road thru the forest is no question,the plain or brush hex was strange...Can artillery be mounted on road in forest?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Customer Service
msg tools
publisher
mb
Hello!

Sorry for any confusion. The artist made the road hexes (such as hex 144) a slightly different color to help identify which hexes were roads, but they are treated just like normal plain hexes.

Brush hexes are mostly dark green (like hex 153).

Roads (and railroads) themselves do not block line of sight, unless the terrain that they run through (such as a forest) does.

I hope that helps!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Customer Service
msg tools
publisher
mb
Hello again!

Units that are "on a road" that runs through a forest hex can take any normal action. For them, the road supersedes the other terrain in the hex, but only as long as they do not move or attack in a direction that does not follow the road.

So, artillery can deploy, withdraw, or board transports on a road that runs through a forest.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toomas Sula
Estonia
Laagri
Harjumaa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you,all clear now
Wonderful game
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.