Wargames» Forums » General

Subject: Coffee Talk: Modelling Suppressive Fire in Tactical Wargames rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: wargames [+] [View All]
John Brady
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
A tip of the hat to Mike Myers for creating such a ditzy character...yes, I know it doesn't have anything to do with the topic...just having some fun.

One of the things that's bothered me about games like ATS, ASL, Lock 'n Load, etc, is that the way fire is modelled, and the lack of a pure suppressive fire option/result.

I'm not an expert on military tactics, but the generally accepted way to assault a fixed postition is to have a base of fire, which would be the bulk of your force, and a smaller assualt force to close on the suppressed enemy and kill him. Let's put this into real game terms...ASL Guards Counterattack scenario, for example.

The Russian player starts the game with 4 stacks of Gurads units...6FP per squad, times 12 squads. Each stack is 3 squads @ 6FP each, and represents a platoon (more or less). If you prep fire on of those stacks to try and kill/break a squad, it's entirely possible to miss completely...8 or higher on a +3 shot,etc target passes MC).

In real terms, though, 30-45 guys unloading everything they have into a building 100 or less yards away would create enough mayhem (flying chunks of concrete, flying glass, wood splinters, etc) to cause most rational human beings hug the ground and stay there until the firing abated a little, in theory giving the assualt element a chance to move under cover of the enemy's suppression.

Now, I know in *game* terms, it would be better to fire those squads individually, (more chances for snakeyes lol), but in real world terms, that wouldn't really be the case.