Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Rules

Subject: defense against takeover attempt (specialized military) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Douglas Tempel
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about how Keldon's AI is calculating military during a takeover attempt. From the game image below, I attempt a takeover of Rebel Underground by discarding Rebel Sneak Attack.



The AI opponent uses the power of Rebel Troops to discard a card and gain +1 temporary military. By my estimation, I have +6 military, and the AI opponent is defending with +6 military (with the +1 temporary bonus and a 3 defense world). However, the AI says that the AI opponent's defense is +7 and that the takeover attempt fails. Apparently, the AI opponent is getting credit for the +1 specialized military bonus from Imperium Warlord. I thought that the +1 specialized bonus from Imperium Warlord only applied when conquering a Rebel world, but not when defending a Rebel world against a takeover attempt.

Does anyone have some clarification on this? Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules confirm the Keldon's implementation is correct:
Rules wrote:
Any temporary Military being used, negative, or specialized Military, such as against Rebel military worlds or based on the target’s kind of world (Rare, Alien, etc.), do apply when calculating each player’s total Military.


(Emphasis added)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Tempel
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, I did see that section in the rules but it's still not clear to me that the Imperium Warlord's specialized military applies when defending and not conquering. The text on Imperium Warlord says:

"+1 Military (additional) to place Rebel military worlds"

Clearly, if I had Imperium Warlord in my tableau when attempting a takeover against a Rebel world, I would get the +1 bonus. However, the card says nothing about gaining the bonus when defending a Rebel military world.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United Kingdom
Southampton
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All specialized Military against Rebel military worlds has that text e.g.
Galactic Imperium. In fact all specialised military has that text - e.g. Alien Tech Institute


I think the reminder text is aimed mainly at new players & wouldn't mention effects not in the base game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd McCorkle
United States
Anderson
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dougtempel wrote:
Thanks, I did see that section in the rules but it's still not clear to me that the Imperium Warlord's specialized military applies when defending and not conquering. The text on Imperium Warlord says:

"+1 Military (additional) to place Rebel military worlds"

Clearly, if I had Imperium Warlord in my tableau when attempting a takeover against a Rebel world, I would get the +1 bonus. However, the card says nothing about gaining the bonus when defending a Rebel military world.

That's because specialized military has absolutely nothing to do with takeovers.

Imperium Warlord Seat does 2 separate things during settle. It gives you +1 military against Rebels AND allows you to do takeovers of Rebel worlds. That specialized military is there for all things rebel: a normal settle from hand, take over attack, and take over defense.

A different example: Galactic Imperium gives +4 rebel military. Again, this has nothing to do with takeovers (duh, it's from the base set 2 expansions before TOs were ever mentioned). If either player has this card in play during a takeover, you have to consider it if the target world is Rebel. If the target is non-rebel, this military doesn't count... exactly the same as if you were settling a card from hand.

Hope that made sense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Douglas Tempel
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zabdiel wrote:
I think the reminder text is aimed mainly at new players & wouldn't mention effects not in the base game.


That makes sense. Thanks for your help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kusinohki wrote:
dougtempel wrote:
Thanks, I did see that section in the rules but it's still not clear to me that the Imperium Warlord's specialized military applies when defending and not conquering. The text on Imperium Warlord says:

"+1 Military (additional) to place Rebel military worlds"

Clearly, if I had Imperium Warlord in my tableau when attempting a takeover against a Rebel world, I would get the +1 bonus. However, the card says nothing about gaining the bonus when defending a Rebel military world.

That's because specialized military has absolutely nothing to do with takeovers.

Imperium Warlord does 2 separate things during settle. It gives you +1 military against Rebels AND allows you to do takeovers of Rebel worlds. That specialized military is there for all things rebel: a normal settle from hand, take over attack, and take over defense.

A different example: Galactic Imperium gives +4 rebel military. Again, this has nothing to do with takeovers (duh, it's from the base set 2 expansions before TOs were ever mentioned). If either player has this card in play during a takeover, you have to consider it if the target world is Rebel. If the target is non-rebel, this military doesn't count... exactly the same as if you were settling a card from hand.

Hope that made sense.
Got it by context, but Imperium Seat is the card that gives +1 REBEL mili-str, and can TO Rebel mili-Worlds
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd McCorkle
United States
Anderson
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
d'oh!

That's what I get for not reading closely enough!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.