Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Immune to Player Card Effects? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Piepho
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In trying to decipher the cards that can be played against an enemy immune to player card effects, e.g. The Witch King, are the following assumptions correct?
1) Halfling Determination, with adds +2 attack to a hobbit character, would indeed add +2 attack against the enemy since this card targets the character and attack is a framework effect;
2) Dagger of Westernesse would only add +1 attack against an enemy with higher engagement cost, since the +2 attack against the enemy with higher engagement cost would target the enemy. However, the +1 attack bonus goes to the character;
3) Unseen Strike, which adds +3 attack against an enemy with higher engagement cost, would not provide an attack bonus against an enemy with higher engagement cost if the enemy was immune to player card effects.
Looking at the latest FAQ, this seems to be a reasonable interpretation; however, it would be nice to be able to use all three cards to survive A Knife in the Dark :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All three of those cards would work fully. They don't target or choose an immune enemy in any way.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Naperville
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All of those cards work because they don't affect the enemy in any way. They instead boost the attacking character.

Cards that wouldn't work are Rivendell Blade (or anything that reduces armor), feint/thicket of spears, or cards that do direct damage.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Piepho
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is good news from both replies. I guess I was over-thinking because this game always seems to find the toughest interpretation for all situations!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.