Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Loser question + deals rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Davi Rosa
Brazil
Brasília
DF
flag msg tools
badge
From the Dungeons and Dragons 80's cartoon. If only it was remade...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, on my last game, there was a conflict. The Loser player was attacked by another player. Loser use Uset (declaring that whoever lost would win), then they placed cards face down, then revealed then. The Loser was losing, thus, winning. So the other player played a Cosmic zap on his opponent so that he could actually win by winning.
Could that be done? Did we play it right?

Does cosmic zap need to be played the moment the user states he/she is using his/her power, or can it be zapped at a more convenient moment?

Also, can more than one colony be established in a deal, on any given side? Could two players just win on the first attack by declaring a trade of 5 colonies for 5 colonies?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jefferson Krogh
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gorondil wrote:
Does cosmic zap need to be played the moment the user states he/she is using his/her power,


Strictly speaking, yes.

Quote:
or can it be zapped at a more convenient moment?


Strictly speaking, no.

Quote:
Also, can more than one colony be established in a deal, on any given side? Could two players just win on the first attack by declaring a trade of 5 colonies for 5 colonies?


Absolutely not. That's clear in the rules -- you can grant only one colony as part of a deal.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan S.
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A Cosmic Zap is played in response to a player attempting to use their Alien Power. Loser's power is used during the Planning phase "before encounter cards are selected". So, if a player wishes to Zap Loser, he must do so during the Planning phase, immediately after Loser's player declares that he is going to use it. If said player waits until encounter cards are selected or, worse yet, permits play to proceed past the Planning phase, it's too late to Zap him.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.