Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Attack Sub» Forums » Rules

Subject: SEQUENCE OF PLAY rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gilbert Collins
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Just got this old classic, and I'm quite surprised at the layout of the rules. In short, they are not very intuitive. What exactly is the sequence of play? It isn't stated anywhere that I can find. It's kind of "mixed in" with section 3.1 which describes what a player can do with each card.

Is this the sequence of play? If so, I will make up a chart or some player aid for consideration on the Geek.

1). Deal out cards to each player, based on number and status of each vessel

2). Can't find this - Who goes first???

3). Player #1 plays ONE card performing ONE action

4). Player #2 May "react" during Player #1's turn if he has red reaction cards

5). Player #1 refills his hand size

6). Player #2 now player in a similar manner to Player #1.

7). Play continues until the scenario has been won.

Is this correct?





6).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Pollock
Canada
Saskatoon
Saskatchewan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From memory:
#2 is listed in the scenario.

3 and 4 I am hazy on. I seem to recall being able to do one action per ship/chopper on a turn. For instance, you use one ship/chopper to try and drive up the contact level and, if successful, have another one carry out the attack that needed the increased Contact Level.

If you're dropping by CASLO (http://canadianaslopen.com/) on the May long weekend, maybe we can get in a game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Key
United States
Knoxville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it's one action per ship/sub/helicopter
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Major Featherstonhaugh
United Kingdom
Gillingham
Kent
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's a handy reference card in the "Files" Section for Attack Sub which may help you

Player aid

There are a few people starting to play this in vassal. 2 of us in Europe, and one in US. GM me for details if you are interested or go to the [listitem=3728969]Geeklist item[/listitem] on the VASSAL opponents wanted page
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Helgeson
United States
Mckinney
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just posted an updated player aid. Some may like it better than my old one. It may take a day or so to be approved. That being said, it doesn't explain the turn sequence. Its more of a reference to quickly remind you how the cards interact to speed up play once you have gotten started.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Helgeson
United States
Mckinney
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1). Deal out cards to each player, based on number and status of each vessel

Initial hand size is 3 plus 1 for each ship/submarine

2). Can't find this - Who goes first???

Scenario dependent

3). Player #1 plays ONE card performing ONE action

May play one card for each ship/sub/helicopter

4). Player #2 May "react" during Player #1's turn if he has red reaction
cards

Yes, may react to each card play

5). Player #1 refills his hand size

After all desired card plays he draws cards to make hand size equal to 3 plus 1 for each ship/sub/heli

6). Player #2 now player in a similar manner to Player #1.

yes

7). Play continues until the scenario has been won.

yes
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think for question 2) there was a default buried in the rules for NATO first unless scenario specified. Just from memory (or lack of), could be wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Logs
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ncree wrote:
I think for question 2) there was a default buried in the rules for NATO first unless scenario specified. Just from memory (or lack of), could be wrong.


Ok looked it up: sec 2.1, highest RN draw gets to choose side, loser gets to go first.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darin Helgeson
United States
Mckinney
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
One clarification on reacting. You do not get to redraw cards until the end of your next turn. Thus when you react, you will have fewer cards available on your next turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.