Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: Tobago [+] solo_rules [+] [View All]
NICK KOUKOS
Greece
HERAKLION ,CRETE
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first attempt for a solo variant. Your comments are mostly welcome.

TOBAGO

(My solo variant)

Goal: Get as much treasure as you can – compare results. The artificial opponent (AI) doesn’t score*, but use AI’s markers when placing cards. Use a discard pile for treasure cards “accepted” by AI and another one for completely discarded cards (“removed” from now on).

Setup: for 2 players. No amulets used in the game, so where statues face is not important

Gameplay: I use a 20-sided die for AI’s options, but I think any die with denomination of 5 should do. On Player’s turn the options are the usual ones: play a card or move

Important notice: The AI’s cards should always remain face down and in the sequence they are drawn. Put any new card at the bottom of the AI’s stack.

On AI’s turn, roll the die and do the following according to the result of the roll:

1,6,11,16: Put the first AI’s card (on top of the stack) in the column of the grey treasure

2,7,12,17: Put the first AI’s card (on top of the stack) in the column of the brown treasure

3,8,13,18: Put the first AI’s card (on top of the stack) in the column of the black treasure

4,9,14,19: Put the first AI’s card (on top of the stack) in the column of the white treasure

5,10,15,20: Move (If there is at least 1 discovered treasure don’t use the die and move)

In case the card of the AI doesn’t fit to the treasure, try another treasure in clockwise direction. In case the card doesn’t fit anywhere, discard it and move instead. Replenish AI’s “hand” to 6 cards. If it is AI’s turn and there is (at least) 1 discovered treasure, don’t use the die and move, according to:

AI’s movement priority - Use the full number of steps if possible

1. Towards location of closest discovered (but not raised) treasure
2. (Next) treasure with fewest markers on board (at least 1)