Scrabble» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Things I didn't Know About Scrabble rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank McGirk
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Although I have a few degrees in the English field, I've never played a lot of Scrabble. Five games now to be exact.

I played last night with an avid, but friendly group at a local coffee shop and had a good time, and even won a game (sorta).

I remember reading about avid crossword puzzlers in Games magazine years back and how they were--by and large--disdainful of Scrabble players because the winner is the person who knew the most 2 and 3 letter words.

I have to admit, there is a large element of that.

The group I was playing with let me sort of horde the Scrabble cheat sheet of short words and "q" words, which helped immensely.

I was somewhat taken aback that many of the players did not know the meanings of the words they were using. Of course, there is really no reason to know that a particular word (which I've already forgoten)is the incorrect word for a unused portugese coin, but looking up those words (not "challenging") to me was one of the most interesting parts of the game.

As a game, it "suffers" from the randombility of "Ticket to Ride" (my first game I had 5--no lie--"a"'s on my rack at one time...thank God for "katana")and the "king maker" problem of Puerto Rico (the second game I was left with hanging "meatballs" of triple word scores by the non-strategy player before me, and with which I was able to use both a Q and a Z word.

Still, I enjoy those games, and I enjoyed playing this one.

I learned:
Naughty and racist words aren't in the regular scrabble dictionary but are in the tournament dictionary (which, incidentally, doesn't have definitions). Supposedly it used to, but then it got marketed at schools and families as well.

AA is a three-toed sloth.

There is a Scrabble timer clock, like a chess clock (we didn't use it).