Nadine Savoie
Canada
flag msg tools
Hi everyone,
I am new to BBG and new to gaming and I'm loving all of it. Well, I've actually played lots of cards and lots of Monopoly type games, but I was recently introduced to Settlers of Catan and it's opened my eyes to a whole new wonderful world of gaming!

My boyfriend and I have played Settlers at least 100 times over the last 2 months and I'd like to get another game but could use some help choosing.

I really like the modular board, the resource acquiring, and also like some luck in a game, but not as much as Catan. I do not like War Games. I would like something a bit more complex than Catan, but not a lot more.

Can you please recommend something that is fun for 2 players, but can be played with more people too and that fits what I've described?

After looking at the threads and the ratings on this site here's a possible list I've come up with.

Puerto Rico
Carcasonne
Goa
Samurai
Ticket to Ride Europe

Thanks!
Ninjagirl

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cheevers
United Kingdom
Liverpool
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Please recommend a resource game for new gamers, 2 playe
Hi,

My wife and I enjoy playing

San Juan
Jambo (must get my own copy...)
Alhambra
Palazzo
Power Grid (It's easier than a lot of people make out)

All good games that are easy to explain but have lots of strategy/tactics to learn over multiple games

James

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Lacombe
Louisiana
msg tools
badge
Suddenly a shot rang out! A door slammed. The maid screamed. Suddenly a pirate ship appeared on the horizon! While millions of people were starving, the king lived in luxury. Meanwhile, on a small farm in Kansas, a boy was growing up.
mbmbmbmb
Carcassonne is neither more complex nor less luck-driven than Catan, but I think it's still a great 2-player game that comfortably accomodates more.