Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Life Debt Reward Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Reserved 89
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Does anyone know whether this card an optional exhaust or compulsory exhaust after an attack within 3 spaces is resolved?

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Exhaust this card after an attack targeting a friendly figure within 3 spaces is resolved. If that figure suffered 3 or more D [damage] you become Focused.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would say you can choose to trigger an ability, in which case you follow the instructions. In this case exhaust the card and perform the effect.

The Abilities section from RRG say that when Exhaust is a cost, the player must exhaust the card to be able to use the ability. This suggests that by not exhausting they choose not to trigger the ability. Also, if the card is already exhausted, the ability is not available.

(There are other class cards with the Exhaust cost, either with or without strain cost, that are worded less ambiguously.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no such thing as a required exhaust in SWIA. You always choose whether you exhaust a card or not. In this case, the remainder is just telling you at which times you are allowed to exhaust the card.

If it were to be enforced, the card would read something like:
"If this card is Ready after an attack targeting a friendly figure within 3 spaces is resolved, exhaust this card and then..."

No such card exists, though.

Also look at cards like the Focused Condition, which has an enforced discard. The discard effect is not mentioned as a cost at the front of the card, but is instead listed in the effects of the card instead.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reserved 89
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks, those answers make sense.

It's the slightly weird wording that got me in that you wouldn't bother to exhaust the card unless your ally took 3+ damage. I suppose they are just wording it similarly to Gaakhan's Rage ability, which it presumably is intended to mimic.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.