Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

City Hall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are you obligated to undertake the Surveyor role? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Amo .
United Kingdom
Newcastle upon Tyne
Tyne and Wear
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lets say Player A wins the role of Surveyor, chooses not to look through the desk; so the next green-colored property card gets put on the table somewhere.

Player A, as winner of the Surveyor role can pay $20 (minus any discounts, excess) for a green-colored card.

But is Player A actually obligated to buy anything? Can he say "I have no money".

Regardless of what happens do we still put $5 on each green card not selected that turn?

If this is the case, players can spam the location knowing they never really have to pay for it and get massive discounts.

Just wondering if they have to buy, or not; and if not what happens if they reject to undertake the role.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Keller
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They do not have to actually buy a piece of land, no. You would still place $5 on all unbought land cards. When surveyor is used again, another card will come out.

Sure, you can spend your turn/influence to make land cheaper, but it is just as likely an opponent will be the one to benefit from your strategy.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
An action is worth way more than the $5 discount (or even $10 if you manage to buy both lands eventually) that surveyor gets you. You can see this if you look at the influence action (I forget what it's called), where you earn 1 to 5 influence and then pay $10 per influence you want to buy. Also the campaign manager, where players if they can afford it will often pay $20 to move an extra step rather than wait to take the action again and move for free.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agent J
United States
Coldwater
Michigan
flag msg tools
He's looking real sharp in his 1940's fedora. He's got nerves of steel, an iron will, and several other metal-themed attributes. His fur is water tight and he's always up for a fight.
badge
He's a semi-aquatic egg-laying mammal of action. He's a furry little flat-foot who'll never flinch from a fray. He's got more than just mad skills, he's got a beaver tail and a bill.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zardon wrote:
Lets say Player A wins the role of Surveyor, chooses not to look through the desk; so the next green-colored property card gets put on the table somewhere.

Player A, as winner of the Surveyor role can pay $20 (minus any discounts, excess) for a green-colored card.

But is Player A actually obligated to buy anything? Can he say "I have no money".

Regardless of what happens do we still put $5 on each green card not selected that turn?

If this is the case, players can spam the location knowing they never really have to pay for it and get massive discounts.

Just wondering if they have to buy, or not; and if not what happens if they reject to undertake the role.


Did Player A take the Surveyor role himself, or buying off someone else, because the person who selects Surveyor is the one who can look through the deck or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.