Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Star Wars: Imperial Assault» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lure of the Dark Side Rules Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason McMahon
United States
Circle Pines
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a game today we had an interesting scenario come up and we are wondering what the correct rule is.

My opponent used Lure of the Dark Side with Vader and chose to have Diala attack Luke. Could he also have then used Lukes Inspiring ability? (While another friendly figure within 3 spaces is attacking, it may reroll 1 die.)

The questions we had were:

1.) Does she become a hostile figure and is then no longer a friendly of Luke?

2.) If she is considered a friendly to Luke still can my opponent then choose to reroll a die with Lukes ability?

3.) Could I use Lukes ability to make him reroll a die?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, first, let's get the appropriate rules quoted:

RRG - Atacks wrote:
• Some abilities allow players to perform an attack with a hostile
figure. To resolve such an attack, the player resolving the
ability controls the hostile figure for the duration of that attack.
- The player resolving the ability chooses the target of the
attack. All figures are considered hostile when choosing a
target for this attack. The figure cannot target itself.
- The player resolving the ability rolls the attack dice and can
use any of the figure’s abilities as if the figure were his own.


Lure of the Dark side has:
Lure of the Dark Side wrote:
Choose a small hostile figure within 3 spaces. Perform 1 attack with that figure.


And the Inspiring ability is:
Inspiring wrote:
While another friendly figure within 3 spaces is attacking, it may reroll 1 die.


Now, Luke is hostile during targeting, but not technically not throughout the attack. However, I think the clincher comes down to the fact that your opponent only had control of Diala and Diala's abilities. Not of Luke's abilities. Thus, he can't benefit from Luke's Inspiring, even though Diala is technically friendly to Luke.

That understanding also works thematically, as Luke is unlikely to encourage Diala to more strongly attack him via inspiring words...

So I'm going for an option 4. She is friendly, but you get to choose whether she uses the ability or not. If you did let her use it, then it would be her controller (your opponent) that chooses the die, as Luke gives the other figure the reroll rather than just rerolling himself.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Hladky
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
badge
Working on Perdition's Mouth game content
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You quoted the rule: "All figures are considered hostile when choosing a
target for this attack.". So while you are doing the attack action with Diala, both heroes and IP units are considered to be hostile. That way you can even attack your own unit, which is otherwise not possible (another rule says you can not attack a friendly unit).

If the above rule was not in place and Diala switched allegiance during the "Lure", the inspiration would work on your other units, that do not act so it would not matter.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mrakomor wrote:
If the above rule was not in place and Diala switched allegiance during the "Lure", the inspiration would work on your other units, that do not act so it would not matter.


You're missing something... Inspiring is on Luke's card, not Diala's. He clearly is a valid target during the targeting step, but throughout the remainder of the attack, outside of targeting, which is where Inspiring triggers, it's important to consider if Diala is now friendly to Luke, and if so, whether Luke's controller decides if Diala can reroll or not.

Perhaps we should fire this one off to RRG, but as I said above, I would rule that Diala is friendly at the time and Luke's controller does have a say in whether his ability is used, as it is an optional one.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Reynolds
United States
Vermontville
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a similar situation come up in a game tonight (Vader used Lure of the Dark Side to force Jyn to attack Luke) and we wondered if that counts as Vader's attack for the activation. We ruled yes since it's an action that includes an attack even though it doesn't come from Vader himself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not Vader's Attack, just like Gideon's Command and Elite Imperial Officer's Executive Order are not their attacks.

I think of it this way: if the figure is rolling its own attack dice (during their own activation), it's their attack. (Heroes can have more than one weapon, but they can attack any number of times anyway. Deployment cards only have a single, fixed weapon.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Reynolds
United States
Vermontville
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
It's not Vader's Attack, just like Gideon's Command and Elite Imperial Officer's Executive Order are not their attacks.

I think of it this way: if the figure is rolling its own attack dice, it's their attack. (Heroes can have more than one weapon, but they can attack any number of times anyway. Deployment cards only have a single, fixed weapon.)


Good to know, thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another thing that would help to think of in these situations. Consider a figure with an ability that lets you interrupt a second figure to shoot them if they do something specific. Now, if a figure, during its activation, does whatever triggers the ability which causes the first figure to perform its attack, would this count against the second figure's limit of attacking actions? Of course not, even though it is responsible for triggering the attack against itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeppe Nybo
Netherlands
Haarlem
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Follow-up question. What if the target of the Lure of the Dark Side is stunned. Can the attack still be performed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, while stunned a figure can not attack or voluntarily exit its space, whichever ability is used to grant an attack or move or movement points to the stunned figure. (Very handy when Jyn is in play to prevent Quick Draw, Quick as a Whip, Sidewinder etc.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
a1bert wrote:
...whichever ability is used to grant an attack or move or movement points...


While you're correct that being Stunned will stop any sort of attacking and any type of non-push movement abilities from working, movement point abilities are a different matter. They can still work if they are not part of a special action and are earned during a figure's activation.

For example, take Fenn Signis' Tactical Movement, which Fenn can exhaust at the start of his activation to earn himself (or a nearby friend) a few movement points. While Stunned, Fenn can use this ability to earn the movement points, use one of his actions to remove the Stunned Condition, and then spend the movement points (before or after his second action).

Sorry to pick such a minor nit, but it is an important distinction...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but, well, I was talking about abilities that give movement points to the figure that is stunned outside of their activation.

If Tactical Movement gives movement points to another figure, the other figure can use them (if not stunned).

So, you can get movement points while stunned. You just can not spend them while stunned. (Or actually, you can spend them while stunned if you like, but they don't provide movement.)

An example, while stunned you can use Tactical Movement to give 2mp to yourself, then perform the Move action to get additional movement points. After that you can remove Stun and spend the movement points to move.

But, the additional question was about receiving movement points, move action, or an attack action out of your own activation while stunned, and all of those go to waste.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, but you had a blanket statement of all such abilities, which was actually mostly correct, but had one important flaw which many people overlook.

Understanding the difference between earning movement points and spending them is very important for several interactions, especially Stunned.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.