Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: Offboard AA against Gliders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ian Tuten
United States
Montgomery Village
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm playing through scenario 93 (Tavronitis Bridge) right now. One of the SSRs is that the British get 2 free AA shots against the incoming German gliders. I'm a bit confused with the AA-against-gliders rules, and want to make sure I'm doing things right.

First, I use the * column on the IFT. So, if the SSR says I get a "4 FP attack", would that mean I use the *4/30mm/2FP column? Or the *5/37mm/4FP column?

Next, the rules seem to indicate that I compare my result with the * number on the glider counter. But... the German glider has a * number of 1? I'm not entirely sure how I could possibly hit it? Or do I use the IFT result (e.g. KIA, K/, etc.)?

I'm confused. Thanks in advance for any guidance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sergio Puente
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
IIRC, gliders are attacked using the *-row on the IFT, exactly as if they were unarmored trucks.

The number in the star in the glider counter is a positive DRM to this attack.

So, in your scenario, you have two 4FP attacks. The number in the *-row of the IFT is 5, and since you have a +1DRM (due to the number in the star in the counter), gliders are damaged on a 4 and destroyed on a 3. Also, 4 and 5 force evasive action.

Hope this helps. Enjoy the scenario, it's really fun!
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Tuten
United States
Montgomery Village
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That helps a lot, thank you! Definitely not how I interpreted the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.