Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Holdfast: Russia 1941-42» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple Luftwaffe attacks on the same Soviet army? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sam LaSala
United States
Oklahoma City
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the German player attack the same Soviet army with 2 separate German armies supported by 2 Luftwaffe units? For example, the Germans have the 6th army and 4th panzer army adjacent to a soviet army in Stalingrad. Rather than pay 1 RP to attack with 6th and 4th armies with 1 Luftwaffe unit (total of 9 dice), the German player spends 1 RP to attack with the 6th army and 1 Luftwaffe (5 dice), resolves that battle and then spends another 1RP to attack with the 4th panzer army and an additional Luftwaffe (6 dice). Obviously, the 11 dice in the second scenario is better for the German player, than the 9 dice in the first. Any clarification would be appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duke
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
An air unit may be added to each attack.
Those are two different attacks.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent Reuber
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're correct that you can attack separately. But remember that the defenders get to fire as many times as they are attacked, so attacking separately risks taking more damage yourself.

With 9 dice hitting on a 5-6, you expect to inflict 3 hits, which is enough to kill any early war Soviet unit.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam LaSala
United States
Oklahoma City
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the feedback. I figured this strategy might come in handy if the Soviets have a full strength 4 SP Army in an objective city and the Germans wanted to risk an all out assault before bad weather moved in.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance G
United States
Knoxville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
...determines everything.
badge
When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules specify one Luftwaffe attack per turn.

Does that not translate to one air attack per month (game scale) ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duke
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, that is not accurate.

The rules say just what I said above.

"An air unit may be added to one attack."

I meant to add that it sounds like you roll dice like I do!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance G
United States
Knoxville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
...determines everything.
badge
When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
4x scalper wrote:
The rules specify one Luftwaffe attack per turn.

Does that not translate to one air attack per month (game scale) ?


Steve, my bad. There is a second sentence to yours in the rules under 10.2 Combat;

"The German player may add 1 air unit to an attack. Each air unit may only be used once a turn."

Going from memory I was thinking 1 air unit but after looking it up tonight, you can use 3 per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duke
United States
Georgetown
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No worries, we are very responsive!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.