Popular Tags: [View All]
Gary Poole
England
Northampton
Northamptonshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi anyone who read my last thread http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/134428
'General Games Workshop Games Tabletop Queiry?' will remember I was trying to find out if the GW line of games were good games/hobby to get into.

It raised some excellent points and offered loads of advice, so with that in mind, I would like to ask some follow on questions that are relevant to the original post in my search for answers. (Sorry if I should have continued my original thread, but I'm a noob)

What got you in to GW Games?

How Long have you been playing/collecting them? and are you still involved with the hobby?

What armies do you have? (size in figures)

and finally roughly how much have you spent on the hobby?

Thanks in advance for your time in answering this queiry.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Wraith
United States
Ypsilanti
Michigan (MI)
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
garypoole wrote:
What got you in to GW Games?

Well, I played Space Hulk and Talisman way back in the day and then Fury of Dracula and some other GW boardgames in the 90s (like Horus Heresy.) I had never gotten into the modeling games (Warhammer Fantasy, currently on its 7th Edition; Rogue Trader, which became Warhammer 40K 2nd Edition, and now up to 4th) because I always figured my artistic skills weren't sufficient (read: non-existent.) But, in 2000, I was finally getting out of my M:TG addiction and poking around for something else to do. A friend of mine who played 40K and Fantasy and my wife (believe it or not) convinced me to pick up 40K, so I did, and discovered that the painting requires more patience than talent. Imagining a snowball starting at the top of a snow-covered mountain would not be an inappropriate image here...

garypoole wrote:
What armies do you have? (size in figures)