Robert S
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Poll
Do you allow Apollo to use his Alert Viper Pilot ability during Ionian Nebula setup in your games?
Yes
No
Neutral
      32 answers
Poll created by digicube
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: In your games, do you allow Apollo to use his Alert Viper Pilot ability during Ionian Nebula setup?
I feel like there's A Story here....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: In your games, do you allow Apollo to use his Alert Viper Pilot ability during Ionian Nebula setup?
Is this a one-question quiz about the rules?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert S
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: In your games, do you allow Apollo to use his Alert Viper Pilot ability during Ionian Nebula setup?
My game group think its unbalanced so banned it during Ionian Setup. We banned Cain too but I agree with this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mindy G
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Mold the chaos into something beautiful
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: In your games, do you allow Apollo to use his Alert Viper Pilot ability during Ionian Nebula setup?
a1bert wrote:
Is this a one-question quiz about the rules?


It's not about the rules, it's about if you house-rule it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Lucas
Canada
Belleville
Ontario
flag msg tools
It's a perfect day for some mayhem!
badge
It's a perfect day for some mayhem!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: In your games, do you allow Apollo to use his Alert Viper Pilot ability during Ionian Nebula setup?
I don't understand why you wouldn't allow it, but that's just me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: In your games, do you allow Apollo to use his Alert Viper Pilot ability during Ionian Nebula setup?
I can see why this would bug some folks, but to me, I take it 'as a feature, not a bug'.

In general, he mostly gets a freebie whenever a CAC is resolved anyways.

When playing with CFB, you tend to use Cmmd a lot, and unfortunately, that is like giving him an XO.

Oh... FWIW, consider brigging Apollo to counteract this. If he thrusted with the presidency, at least he's forced between his AVP vs. super Qcard efficiency on C1
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hendrik R
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Re: In your games, do you allow Apollo to use his Alert Viper Pilot ability during Ionian Nebula setup?
Spoiler for Season 3 (or somewhere near that)
Spoiler (click to reveal)

The Battle of the Ionian Nebula is, of course, the prime example from the show where Apollo just hopped into a Viper and did his thing. Seeing how it's not that imbalancing, I really don't see the need to houserule this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Koehne
msg tools
Re: In your games, do you allow Apollo to use his Alert Viper Pilot ability during Ionian Nebula setup?
jsciv wrote:
I feel like there's A Story here....

Indeed there are, several in fact...

1) Jump into Ionian Nebula off of Lion's Head.

Pilot lee jumps out into a viper interupting Crossroads phase.

Xo's Cally sitting on FTL, she uses Test the Limits and Jumps.

They lose the roll but survive. Humans Win before Crossroads Phase begins.

2)Jump into Ionian Nebula. Humans have 8 Civilians on the board all in the back sector. 4 Population.

Pilot lee jumps out, interupting Crossroads phase.

CAG Actions and moves a unpiloted viper to the back then OPGs. Escorts 6 Civilians.

Crossroads starts to be revealed and the first player to do so was an soft re-revealed undercover cylon who had the double raider activation crossroads card.

Had lee not been able to use his opt, then there would have been 8 unprotected civies in back instead of 2 protected ones.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Raptor1210 wrote:
jsciv wrote:
I feel like there's A Story here....

Indeed there are, several in fact...

1) Jump into Ionian Nebula off of Lion's Head.

Pilot lee jumps out into a viper interupting Crossroads phase.

Xo's Cally sitting on FTL, she uses Test the Limits and Jumps.

They lose the roll but survive. Humans Win before Crossroads Phase begins.

2)Jump into Ionian Nebula. Humans have 8 Civilians on the board all in the back sector. 4 Population.

Pilot lee jumps out, interupting Crossroads phase.

CAG Actions and moves a unpiloted viper to the back then OPGs. Escorts 6 Civilians.

Crossroads starts to be revealed and the first player to do so was an soft re-revealed undercover cylon who had the double raider activation crossroads card.

Had lee not been able to use his opt, then there would have been 8 unprotected civies in back instead of 2 protected ones.


Those are bad, but seem like more so into "corner case" territory. If they're able to consider LHN at that point, then hopefully fuel has be hit enough to not make it work :\

Not much consolation, but there are still other woes at heart.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Koehne
msg tools
ackmondual wrote:

Those are bad, but seem like more so into "corner case" territory. If they're able to consider LHN at that point, then hopefully fuel has be hit enough to not make it work :\

Not much consolation, but there are still other woes at heart.


The main problem is that it's not an isolated incident. For all too many games with Pilot Lee, there is some kind of shenanigans that happen during the Ionian Setup before the Crossroads Phase starts. Some of the times, it's something innocuous like moving to protect civies or scouting. However, other times it's gamebreaking like double Nuking both Basestars or mass escorting the Civilians or pre-Crossroads jumping.

I firmly believe that being able to use Lee's OPT during the Ionian Setup Pre-Crossroads Phase is fundamentally unbalanced and is not the original intention of his OPT. His OPT works perfectly fine for the most part however in this particular instance I feel like it should not be able to be used.

Edit: Also Lee's OPT at Ionian Setup Pre-Crossroads Phase is a "corner-case" as well, so I don't see how saying those are "corner-cases" helps, it only emphasises how his OPT in this instance is itself a "corner case" that results in shenanigans.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sir Bolo
msg tools
Raptor1210 wrote:
jsciv wrote:
I feel like there's A Story here....

Indeed there are, several in fact...

1) Jump into Ionian Nebula off of Lion's Head.

Pilot lee jumps out into a viper interupting Crossroads phase.

Xo's Cally sitting on FTL, she uses Test the Limits and Jumps.

They lose the roll but survive. Humans Win before Crossroads Phase begins.



Actually you just played it incorrectly.
LHN advances the jump track after the last step of the jump, which means that you have to resolve all effects of the jump fully - including Crossroads - before advancing the track.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Raptor1210 wrote:
jsciv wrote:
I feel like there's A Story here....

1) Jump into Ionian Nebula off of Lion's Head.

....

2)Jump into Ionian Nebula. Humans have 8 Civilians on the board all in the back sector. 4 Population.


I don't see these as problems.

In case #1, getting Lion's Head as a Crossroads choice and being able to use it without dying (because you would essentially have had to be at 5 Fuel before the jump) is super edge case. Human Lee happening to have an XO and trusting a Human who happens to be on FTL who happens to have the exact Engineering card (of which there are only 1 or 2 in the Engineering deck) on top of that? Even more edge case. I say good job Humans for being in that good a position!

In #2, how did there get to be 8 civvies on the board? Presumably Lee knew he had the use of the OPT/OPG and so the Humans could have been using a perfectly sound strategy of allowing the buildup. It's not like both the unrevealed Cylon and the Humans couldn't see that Lee had his ability. If the unrevealed Cylon was banking on getting the exact Crossroads card that would have allowed him to activate raiders twice then maybe he should have been trying to do something about the obvious Apollo move. That's not broken either.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.