Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Coup: Rebellion G54» Forums » Rules

Subject: Intellectual as last influence rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Rodriguez
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
I think this is a silly question but a friend of mine keeps attempting to do this. If intellectual is in the game, can you do the memoirs action while being eliminated? Ex, Player A coups Player C. Player B coups Player C, eliminating him, but instead of Player C flipping second card over, he claims intellectual and keeps his card face down. Either way he is eliminated but this way he can attempt to hide information from non-eliminated players. Is this legal?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian K
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it is, though it is a little silly. It can make a difference with the lawyer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Toltz
United States
Boston
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
designer
Your cat likes me more
badge
In brightest day / In blackest night / No evil shall escape my sight / Let those who worship evil's might / Beware my power--Green Lantern's light!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Totally legit. Why wouldn't it be? Losing influence is losing influence.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
drodlings wrote:
I think this is a silly question but a friend of mine keeps attempting to do this. If intellectual is in the game, can you do the memoirs action while being eliminated? Ex, Player A coups Player C. Player B coups Player C, eliminating him, but instead of Player C flipping second card over, he claims intellectual and keeps his card face down. Either way he is eliminated but this way he can attempt to hide information from non-eliminated players. Is this legal?

The designer explicitly said that this is allowed here.

It is not only important if Lawyers are in play - it also gives you a risk-free way to conceal your last card from the other players. It does seem a little odd that just having Intellectuals in the game lets anyone do this.

But I suppose that having Missionaries in the game means that anyone can claim Missionaries when losing their last card in a similarly risk-free manner.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.