Popular Tags: [View All]
Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

OK, do you remember when you were new to this game? Unless you've previously played a Bowen Simmons game, or have decades of experience with that special knack for completely understanding rules the very first time, you probably had difficulty grasping the rules for Guns of Gettysburg. I know I did. But not now!

I'm relatively new to boardgaming (6 years) and had never heard of Bowen Simmons before stumbling across the GoG Kickstarter campaign. So, "Yes", I found it a challenge to grasp the very condensed GoG rulebook! So out came the pen. Why? For my first play of a complex game, I usually play it solo. Then based on that experience I underline everything in the rulebook that's important - especially for when coming back to the game after a long break.

So I underlined key sentences, phrases, and concepts in the GoG rulebook. While doing so, I was proud that I remembered that my 7th grade English teacher taught me to not underline everything! I certainly wanted to. It was the solo play experience that helped me focus on what was important in the rules - and again mostly to aid myself when getting back into the game at a future time.

And that tactic paid off! I haven't touched GoG for the past 16 months. But last week I pulled out the rulebook, and... OH! Now, IT IS SO WELL WRITTEN! I see that now. Being away from the game, and the rules for almost a year and a half actually helped. So when I dove back into the rules for the 2nd time around, it all just clicked. Every rule made perfect sense. Everything was covered. And more importantly, everything is clear. And that's amazing considering that 20 pages of rules are crammed into a 14 page rulebook. Normally such condensing is at the expense of clarity. This time, reading the rules was a joy.