Popular Tags: [View All]
Justen O
United States
Santa Clarita
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Hi, folks. My name is Justen Overlander. I've been a lurker at BGG for a few years after being introduced to Dominion about five years ago. Since then, I've become engrossed in board games, although my participation hasn't been as prominent as I'd like. Having three young kids limits my availability, although my oldest is now ten and she loves 7 Wonders, Alhambra, and Ticket to Ride. Yay!

By trade, I'm an actor/filmmaker. You can Google me or check IMDb to vet me. No, I'm not a household name. Sorry to disappoint.

But I love what I do and I do it well. My latest directorial effort is a Young Frankenstein/Airplane spoof that I hope to distribute sometime this year. I also have a faith-based project currently in development. My first self-produced film was a horror. What can I say? I'm eclectic.

Which leads me to the point of this post. (Finally, right?)

I'd love to do a documentary about the Board Gaming Community. I recently saw a trailer for Going Cardboard, and while I appreciate what the filmmakers were trying to do, I don't think the production quality is quite there. I have equipment and connections and could put together a higher quality product relatively inexpensively.

I'm not asking for money. Well, not yet. whistle

And I'm not here to insult the efforts of the Going Cardboard people. Making a movie is a ton of work and I applaud their efforts. I want to do something different.

At this early stage of development I'm just putting a feeler out there to gauge the interest of the community. So take a moment to answer my poll below and leave a comment if you have suggestions. Who would you like to see in this project? Should we go after Wil Wheaton? Jim Parsons? Olivia Munn? Feel free to make reasonable suggestions.