Kansas
flag msg tools
mb
In a recent thread in the ASLSK #1 forums:

ASL - How realistic?
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/134133

...Lock 'n Load designer Mark Walker made the following comment:

Mark Walker wrote:
I believe ASL is a brilliant design. I enjoy playing it and believe it creates a reasonable fascimile of small unit combat. I'm not, however, a big fan of it's phases. In my WWII tactical game Lock 'n Load: Band of Heroes (www.locknloadgame.com), I use impulses, to better portray the ebb and flow of combat at this level.

This raises some questions in my mind about how the impulse system in Lock 'n Load actually works in various situations, so I thought I would come here to see if Mark, or other experienced Lock 'n Load players, would be willing to discuss this further.

I have never had the opportunity to try out a Lock 'n Load game, so I have very little knowledge of it. Hopefully you'll excuse me if I ask a really stupid question with an obvious answer!

First, I will readily agree that it would be easy to find tactical situations that are better portrayed by an alternating impulse system than by ASL's alternating, multiple phase, turns. But there are other situations where an impulse system would seem to be problematical...

* How does Lock 'n Load model the concentration of firepower? In ASL, squads and machineguns can fire together at a single target, increasing their chances of causing damage. If they were forced to fire individually at a target, many defensive positions would be nearly invincible. That is, in ASL, a 24 point attack from four squads will do far more damage than four separate 6 point attacks. Does Lock 'n Load allow multiple units to combine their fire in a single impulse? If so, can units in different hexes combine their fire in this way? Or is the firepower of a single squad sufficient to damage even a dug-in defender?