Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

El Grande» Forums » Rules

Subject: Does the King region score twice? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pedro
Portugal
Lisbon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

When we are scoring the regions, you are supposed to follow the little track with all the region names in it. The first one is the castillo and the second one the region where the king stands. However this region will show up again, when we're going through the other regions by name, so does this mean that the region with the king scores twice?

If that's true, isn't it a little too much? I mean, you already get the bonus for having the king there, so if you score twice, controlling it in the scoring rounds becomes a huge factor...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The space with the picture of the caballero on it does not mean you score the king's region. It's a reminder to tell you to place your caballeros from the castillo in the region you secretly chose prior to castillo scoring.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberto Méndez
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you are wrong.

In you are scoring regions you must:

Choose a region with the secret disk (first icon)
Score the Castle (second icon)
Move knights from Castle to the chosen region (third icon)
Score the regions following the track (all other icons)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The little track is made specifically to avoid two regions being score twice!

Why do you think the second region is the one in which the King stands? The little picture is certainly not a picture of a king, it looks more like a peasant. In fact it is a picture of a player(!)

The first space (wheel) is a reminder to the players of setting their Wheel. The second (tower) to score the Tower. The third (player) is a reminder to move the Caballeros from the tower to the player's chosen region. Then comes all the other regions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pedro
Portugal
Lisbon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great Dane wrote:
The little track is made specifically to avoid two regions being score twice!

Why do you think the second region is the one in which the King stands? The little picture is certainly not a picture of a king, it looks more like a peasant. In fact it is a picture of a player(!)

The first space (wheel) is a reminder to the players of setting their Wheel. The second (tower) to score the Tower. The third (player) is a reminder to move the Caballeros from the tower to the player's chosen region. Then comes all the other regions.




Ok thanks. We've tried it both ways and discovered that the game works a whole lot better when we played it the correct way. I wonder why?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Zanini
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pedro,

just to add to the comments, don't forget to add the 2 points for the king when you do score a region.

PS. we did the same thing when we originally played the game the first couple of times, so you're not alone. Heck, we even played the Villian and King cards wrong, so good that you asked the question. laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David
New Zealand
Wellington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heh, the first time we played we somehow incorporated Portugal. It wasn't until the first Secret disk selection that we realised something was a amiss...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.